Starters and Finishers

Paul Adams
1 min readOct 14, 2015

--

In chatting with Rafael (our VP Marketing here at Intercom) last week about questions we ask when interviewing people, he mentioned that he often asks people if they are a ‘Starter’ or a ‘Finisher’. What a brilliant question. I am a Starter, no doubt. I work hard to be a Finisher when it matters, but I am naturally a Starter.

This is already providing me with lots of food for thought on the people in my team, and the people we need to hire. As my team has grown, I need more senior people to help me, specifically and acutely I need a Director of PM to be my co-pilot. I always knew that I needed to hire someone unlike me, someone who is strong where I am weak, someone who embraces what I put off, someone to complement me.

Only now do I realise that I need to hire a Finisher.

--

--

Paul Adams

VP of Product @Intercom. Before that PM, UX, Design at Facebook, Google, Dyson. I like building things with others. Wrote a book http://amzn.com/0321804112