Tragedy beyond the borders

Vladimir Maglena
2 min readFeb 23, 2023

--

If the Heavenly Father has converted us to His Son, showing us, at least to the extent of our close receptivity, the immense height of His Love, then we will see that there is no tragedy in the LORD.

Tragedy exists only in the destinies of people whose ideal has not transcended earthly boundaries. Christ is not a tragic character at all. His suffering is also alien to this element. Christ’s love at all times of His stay with us on earth was long-suffering: “O you unfaithful and depraved generation… how long will I be with you, how long will I bear with you?” (Matthew 17:17). He wept for Lazarus and his sisters (John 11:35); He grieved over the hard-heartedness of the Jews who beat the prophets (Mt. 23:30ff); in Gethsemane, His soul “grieved even unto death” and “His sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground” (Mt. 25:38; Lk. 22:44).

He lived the tragedy of all humanity, but it was not in Him alone. This is clear from His words to His disciples, which He said, perhaps a short hour before the Gethsemane prayer: “My peace I give unto you” (John 14:27). And also: “I am not alone, for the Father is with me. I have told you these things that you may have peace in Me. In the world you will be tribulated, but take heart: I have overcome the world” (John 16:32–33). And again a few weeks before Calvary: “Jesus began to reveal to His disciples that He must go up to Jerusalem and suffer many things… and be killed, and on the third day be raised” (Matt. 16: 21). And again: “Do not weep for Me, but weep for yourselves and for your children” (Luke 23:28). The tragedy is not in Him, but in us.

--

--

Vladimir Maglena

My name is Vladimir Maglena. I am an Orthodox priest from Ukraine.