A Chit Chat With A Foco Fitness Guru

Paige McHattie
2 min readOct 2, 2016

--

In order to get a better sense of Fort Collins’ fitness culture and all it has to offer, I went to someone who works directly in the fitness community here in Foco. Her name is Shelby Stratton, and she is a jack of all trades when it comes to fitness. She is a personal trainer, a yoga instructor and simply a lover of fitness all around. Although due to busy schedules, our chat had to be conducted via email. Despite the lack of face-to-face communication, she still gave me a great insight into Fort Collins fitness. (Thanks, Shelby! You rock.)

Paige: Thanks so much for being willing to answer my questions! First off, what do you do?

Shelby: I am a health and wellness lover- yoga instructor, personal trainer and sell essential oils. I have been a yoga instructor for 7 yrs, selling essential oils for 2 years and personal training for about a year.I work at OmHouse Yoga in Loveland and Personal Train out of Lifted Personal training studio.

https://www.facebook.com/OmHouseyoga/

Paige: Wow, awesome. What got you into doing that?

Shelby: I went to CSU and graduated in health and exercise science and have always had a love for sports and fitness growing up. I did lots of yoga in college for stress relief and decided to help others after seeing all the changes in my life. Then got into essential oils after my daughter was born to help create a chemical free home. Got into personal training after college- starting a ‘not for profit’ Super Mom Fitness and decided to help get moms back in shape after kids and show them that they do need to take time for themselves in return they will be happier moms, wives and friends taking time to have a healthy life style.

https://www.facebook.com/SMFColorado/

Paige: Cool! Sounds like you know your stuff. What do you love about fitness in Fort Collins?

Shelby: I love that Foco is a VERY active community. We have such a broad range in fitness choice and not just one type is popular here. It is also a healthy community that likes to incorporate mind, body and soul and just not one aspect of ‘wellness.’ I also think is has created a huge community for people, a lot of friends are made through fitness and that also helps drive a “fitter” (if that is a word…lol) community.

Paige: I can totally see that. How would you describe Fort Collins’ fitness culture in one sentence?

Shelby: I would describe it as a fitness driven community that is about community and relationships built through fitness.

For more info about all Shelby does, check out her Facebook pages!

--

--