Day 47: National Crayon Day

Paige Smyth
2 min readMar 31, 2022

--

Today’s Visualization

Title: Crayola Colors Named After Food

Notes: The food-related names of Crayola crayons by category of food.

Tools: Google Sheets, Adobe Illustrator

Reflection

Happy National Crayon Day! To mark the occasion, I set out to investigate the names of Crayola’s crayons. I was familiar with a few unique ones like “macaroni and cheese” and “asparagus,” which are both foods, so I started by putting each name in a category based on the name’s derivation. In the end, I had quite a few categories, ranging from outer space to traditional color words to flowers. Other than traditional color names, the largest category by far was food, so that’s what I included in today’s visualization!

This was a lot of fun to make, and I hope it’s fun to look at as well. As always, thanks for reading, and I hope you have a colorful, crayon-filled day 🌈

Today’s Recommendation

The Crayon-Bow by Stephen Von Worley

To celebrate National Crayon Day, here’s an awesome visualization showing the Crayola crayon colors added over the years. According to the author’s findings, if the color growth rate holds constant (an annual increase of 2.56%), then kids will be coloring with 330 colors of crayons by 2050!

Until tomorrow,
Paige

--

--