Standards & Technologies for Digital Learning (part I)

Nikos Palavitsinis
9 min readJan 24, 2018

I have been working in the education field for quite some time now. I am mainly working with metadata but I have also been quite involved in managing technical work related to learning repositories and related apps or services for multiple audiences (K-12, adult education, etc.). For that matter, I know very well that keeping up with all the standards, technical documentation, technologies and the likes, is not easy.

On the contrary, it’s a really daunting task and a project that has a life of its own. Some would say that it’s not necessary if you just focus on your area of expertise. And while this may be true in general, I feel that if someone wants to engage in meaningful discussions about metadata for example, they should definitely have a couple of facts straight about what’s out there in terms of standards or technologies.

Having this in mind, I decided to assemble some of the technologies, standards, tools and the works that someone needs to be aware of, if he/she is working with ICT in education. I am planning to enrich this post from time to time, just to keep a reference point for myself but also all of you out there that work in the same field. Please feel free to add any references or other stuff in the comments’ section below. If I was to make a rough categorization of the existing standards and technologies for…

--

--

Nikos Palavitsinis

Unpublished author, published father, optimistic outlook that start from pessimistic writing most of the times. Love life, live love.