Kimberly Norris Guerrero: The Native American Actress You Need To Know

Pamela J. Peters
8 min readFeb 23, 2019
Kimberly Norris Guerrero — photo by Pamela J. Peters ©

Kimberly Norris Guerrero is a name I became familiar with after I first saw her in an episode of Seinfeld. Her character Winona, an alluring, confident intelligent young woman stood up against subtle American Indian stereotypes in a humorous refined way. Years later, I attended the Autry’s Native Voices theater production, The Frybread Queen, after which I met Kimberly in person. I praised her on her portrayal of the character Annalee and briefly mentioned the admiration I had for her as an American Indian actress. That moment was surreal for me because she wouldn’t really know the phenomenal impact she had on me as a young Native American woman seeing an exquisite, independent fierce Indian woman having agency in an intelligent, comic way on television and on a highly acclaimed comedy series nonetheless.

Over the years, I became friends with Kimberly and I asked her if I could do an informal interview and photo session so the rest of the community could get to know her. We met in the late fall of 2018 and here is what I am able to share from our day of shooting and conversing.

Meet Kimberly Norris Guerrero.

--

--

Pamela J. Peters

Navajo Multimedia Documentarian Rez Born, Los Angeles based. Writer, Photographer, Filmmaker, Poet and Connoisseur of Frybread #Diné #Film @TachiiniiPhotography