Unlearning Perfectionism My Return to Writing

PamelaJune
2 min readJun 13, 2024

--

Photo by Tony Frost on Unsplash

Take 2.

A few weeks ago, I posted on here, only to delete it the very next day. Cringing, I realized my first post about starting a freelancing career felt whiny without a huge online following.

There’s a massive people-pleaser within me that I’ve battled my whole life. Turning 44 recently, you’d think I’d be in the “I don’t give a sh*t” phase like most of my generation. I’m getting there, unlearning lifelong beliefs takes time.

Lately, I’ve been reflecting, doing some deep thinking and assessing my life, the paths taken and not taken. Then, I stumbled upon a quote by George Eliot:

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”

It was the nudge I needed to “get on with it.” We all have a list of things we want to do, but hold ourselves back for various reasons. For me, it’s perfectionism, always ready to sink its claws in and keep me stuck.

One of my “I want to do this” goals is to write consistently here and see what happens. I could have started months ago, but instead, I procrastinated. I picked up books, read countless (Medium) articles, convincing myself I needed to be “ready.” I even used “writer’s block” as an excuse, despite Seth Godin calling it a myth:

“Writer’s block is a choice…it’s real. And yet it’s all invented.”

When you fall out of practice, getting started is the hardest part. So, I began a daily writing practice, setting a timer for 25 minutes and letting my fingers fly. It’s been incredibly cathartic, even if these writings never see the light of day.

This morning, as I typed “Day 10,” it felt amazing. Ten days straight of writing! A huge accomplishment after years without a consistent practice.

From now on, I am no longer going to allow my perfectionism hold me back. If you’re reading this, maybe it’s your sign to start writing again, or perhaps to stop caring what others think.

Thank you for following me, even without any stories to show for it. Hopefully, that’s about to change.

Thanks for getting this far!

--

--

PamelaJune

Hello, I'm Pamela June, a visual designer based in Melbourne, Australia, proud dog mum and my blood type is coffee.