Why I Can’t Divorce Disney

Pamela Reilly
5 min readJun 17, 2023

--

Has Disney been getting some bad press lately, or what? From their ongoing battles with Florida governor Ron DeSantis, to their inclusion of LGBTQ+ characters in their animated movies, to their ever-increasing prices, with favoritism shown to the one-percenters, you may pick your reason to hate and boycott Disney. I myself have lobbied complaints about them over the years, and still do. The company just seems to be so unfaithful to the dreams and visions of its founder, Walt Disney. So why can’t I divorce Disney?

I was born in 1963 in San Diego, California. From an early age, Disney was THE entertainment venue available to me and to my generation. Such films as Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, Pinocchio, Dumbo, Bambi, Cinderella, Peter Pan, Lady and the Tramp, and One Hundred and One Dalmatians were all released before I was born, but in those days Disney films would be re-released in the theatres every couple of years, so I was able to enjoy them over and over. In my childhood, there was the debut of such films as Mary Poppins, The Jungle Book, The Aristocats, not to mention great live action movies such as The Absent-Minded Professor, The Parent Trap, The Love Bug, all the Kurt Russel comedies, and Escape from Witch Mountain. Then there were all the books and music that came from these movies and filled my childhood bedroom.

Television also opened the doors to Disney magic. Every Sunday night the TV belonged only to me as I watched the Wonderful World of Disney — no boring news programs, no sporting events, just a fairy flying around a castle trailing pixie dust, Walt himself interacting with his animated characters, animated shorts featuring his beloved characters, live action including Davy Crockett. Then there was the Mickey Mouse Club, which launched stars such as Annette Funicello. A mouse ear cap with your name embroidered on it became a coveted possession and a necessary souvenir if you visited Disneyland.

Ah, Disneyland! Another magical dream of Walt’s come to life. Whenever someone reached a pinnacle in their career, say in a sporting event, the heralded way to celebrate the milestone was, “I’m going to Disneyland!” Since I grew up in Southern California, Disneyland was the ultimate vacation destination and only 100 miles from San Diego. I remember eagerly watching for the top of the Matterhorn from I-5. (Today, several attractions tower even higher.) How I loved the thrill of walking down Main Street, the immersion of entering each themed land. No other amusement park could surpass or duplicate it. I visited there for Grad Night, I visited there on my honeymoon, and, even as parents struggling financially, with the help of my in-laws, my husband and I were able to share this magical place with our own children.

They grew to have magical Disney dreams of their own. Such films as Oliver and Company, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and Lion King fueled their imaginations as well as mine. Belle of Beauty and the Beast became my favorite Disney princess, with her love and books and disdain for the status quo.

As a parent and a Christian, I have had my issues with the Disney Company over the years. In the 80’s Disney created a separate line of films under the name Touchstone Pictures, and started creating films with a more mature vent, even rated R films such as Good Morning, Vietnam and Pretty Woman, good films, just not Disney family friendly. Because of our family’s Christian faith, there were a few animated Disney film we chose not to see due to their presentation of different gods and the possible confusion they might lend to our young children’s growing faith. (A Christian friend of mine, after taking her children to see Hercules, had quite a time trying to explain to her young son that the God they served was not named Zeus.)

As in much entertainment in the modern world, the Disney Company seems to have certain political and social agendas they wish to portray through their movies and in their parks. We may not all agree with these agendas, and definitely don’t agree with possible indoctrination of our children. I understand the heart of parents who chose to boycott certain movies, or Disney all together.

Disney has incorporated many other businesses into their company and have become a giant in the industry. Whereas Walt Disney invested all of his money back into creating better family friendly entertainment, the current Disney Company is quite rich, and continues to profit off of its fan base, charging more and more in its worldwide parks, and giving preference to its customers who are willing and able to pay for extra services. My daughter and her husband have twice fulfilled my dream of visiting Disney World in Florida in 2018 and 2022. In between those few years we saw such an increase in prices, with a drop in services and new charges being added, we are questioning whether to return. It is quite frustrating to stand in a line for an attraction when a 60-minute promised que becomes two hours because others have paid extra money for the privilege of cutting in front of you in line.

But as I watched my first Rope Drop opening performance at the Magic Kingdom, I was grinning from mouse ear to mouse ear, happy tears pouring out of my eyes. As I watched the parade of familiar characters pass by, I squealed like a child, pointing and shouting, “It’s Baloo!” “Oh! Mary Poppins!” Even at home, I continue to sing the beautiful memorable music of my lifetime, tunes from Cinderella, Mary Poppins, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Frozen, the list goes on. I guess it is all nostalgia, but it is undeniable and brings me such joy. So I continue to revel in the good, and try to ignore the bad, and rejoice as I watch my grandchildren, and now great-grandchildren, also be enchanted by Disney magic. Thank you, Mr. Walter Elias Disney!

--

--