Guatape, Colombia, Photo by Bruce Berger

How To Take Pictures of Strangers And Have Them Begging For More

Pam Perkins
10 min readJun 28, 2019

--

Mali, Photo by Pam Perkins

Whether it’s true or not, I have a reputation as being fearless.

Fearless in the way I travel and fearless when taking pictures of strangers. These aren’t words I’d use to describe myself, but rather I prefer saying I’m someone who steps out of my comfort zone in order to experience and understand the human condition. One way is through travel and connecting with people. For me, this happens when I take pictures of people because when I look through the camera’s view finder and see a face, I swear I hear a heart beat and see an open mind. This begins a personal connection based around the creative process that involves mutual respect and trust. The photographer must respect his or her subject and the subject must trust the person behind the camera. This relationship creates a structural tension that can result in a beautiful story.

Southwest China, Photo by Pam Perkins

My Travel Philosophy

--

--

Pam Perkins

Writer, Photographer, Cyclist, World Traveler, 82 countries and counting. www.pamperkins.com.