Failure Is Impossible When You Focus on the Horizon

BEGINNINGS: Week 1 - Don’t Look Down

--

But when he looked down at the waves churning beneath his feet, he lost his nerve and started to sink. He cried, “Master, save me!” (Matthew 14:30 MSG)

After first seeing and hearing about stand up paddle boarding (SUP), I decided I was going to try it, but not on the ocean. I wanted to try it first on flat water, and figured there had to be a place near me here in Nashville since we have a large river and several lakes.

After a quick search online, I found a place at the marina closest to me that rents boards and offers a beginner course, making the thought of trying this new sport a little less intimidating.

I invited a few friends to join me, but didn’t have any takers.

I didn’t let the fact that I’d have to go solo stop me. I’ve been to the other side of the world to Australia by myself. I go hiking and biking by myself all the time. I could do this by myself too.

And besides, I knew I wouldn’t be truly alone because God is always with me, and there would be some other newbies in the beginner class I could meet.

--

--

Lori Bumgarner Béen, Career Coach

Helping you who feel stuck in your career get unstuck & put your purpose & passion into action. yourpassioninlife.com | paNASH | SUP enthusiast | basketball fan