When You Pass Through Difficult Waters, God Will Be With You

Day 28: Listen for God’s Voice

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. (Isaiah 43:2a NIV)

Recently I found myself in a bit of a precarious situation.

I decided to go out for an evening paddle despite some cloudiness. All day the skies had vacillated from sunny to cloudy and back to sunny again. It never did rain and the weather report didn’t seem to call for rain, so I decided it was safe to go out on the water.

When I first started out, I thought to myself what a perfect evening for a paddle! The current was low, and the water was calm; the winds were low, and the clouds shielded me from the blazing sun. Even the bugs were on their best behavior, which is a rare thing in the evenings.

Since the current was low, I decided to go downstream and went about two miles before turning around. Once I did turn around, I could tell the current had increased since I first ventured out.

About half a mile later around 6 or 6:30pm, the bottom dropped out.

--

--

Lori Bumgarner Béen, Career Coach

Helping you who feel stuck in your career get unstuck & put your purpose & passion into action. yourpassioninlife.com | paNASH | SUP enthusiast | basketball fan