How Ricoh GR III performs in Flash Photography

Pandora Wong
2 min readMar 13, 2019

--

I had my hands on the all-new Ricoh GR III, courtesy of Michael, Ricoh Ambassador Singapore for loaning the set to me for a week. As most of you already know, it is a cult favourite among street photographers. I will spare you the details on the super technical bits.

I was tasked to see how the camera performs in flash photography. However, for this iteration of the Ricoh, they have scraped away the inbuilt flash. So with my nifty Godox AD200 and some procrastination, I set up these shots with the help of @madfitnessmarket sparing me an hour of her lunch break to snap these images.

Behind the scene. Small camera with Phottix PRO Umbrella Softbox

The following images were shot using the crop mode which comes in 35mm and 50mm focal length flavour. The AF (autofocus) was chirpy but hunts during low light especially in 50mm mode. The touchscreen was nice, battery life was average, but you can just get an extra battery. Ricoh stays true to its form of being a small, capable little camera that packs a punch.

EXIF: 1/500s f/4 ISO400 35mm Flash
EXIF: 1/800s f/4.5 ISO400 35mm Flash
EXIF: 1/800s f/4.5 ISO400 35mm Flash
EXIF: 1/500s f/4 ISO400 35mm Flash

Tried the new GR III yet? I look forward to hearing about your experience with the camera.

Hi! My name is Pandora Wong, Co-Founder at ORANA, a photography and video production studio based in Singapore. We work alongside discerning clients to tell stories with thought and heart. Together, we create quality visual content that engages and builds connections.

I enjoy creating engaging content. Always happy to collaborate.
Personal Projects:
www.pandorawong.com

--

--