Travels: Vilnius

Vlada
4 min readSep 14, 2015

Sharing my traveling stories and showing what I loved the most in each particular city.

Vilnius was the first city I traveled to on my own. That’s right: no friends, no family, just me and my desire to explore a new city. Why? Well, I could go on and on about how great it is to travel alone or how you should do it at least once in your life but the truth is that I’m simply a perfectionist and even a little bit of an egoist, I guess. What it means is that I like to have it my own way. Like, seriously, I have a detailed plan for every day of every trip I take and somehow this is fun for me. All right, enough of this whole planning obsession. Vilnius is a great destination for traveling, that is for sure.

Atmosphere

The first impression I got is that I immediately felt like home. And I loved that feeling. People are really nice, it seems like no one’s in a hurry even though people obviously have jobs to go to. You feel safe, comfortable and willing to explore the beautiful capital of Lithuania. Bikes are very popular and it seems like half of the population of Vilnius uses them which is really awesome (that’s cause I also love bikes, probably).

Sightseeing

Gediminas Tower

What for: to enjoy the gorgeous panorama of the city.

Vilnius University

What for: to feel the vibe of one of the oldest universities in Northern Europe and to walk down its corridors.

Vilnius Old Town

What for: to enjoy slow walks in the city and to admire its sights including St. Anne’s church, St. Peter&Paul’s church, Gates of Dawn, Literatai street and lots of others.

Uzupis

What for: to capture the bohemic atmosphere of the neighborhood full of artists who prefer to reside in squats.

Murrr … Cafe and Mint Vinetu

What for: to enjoy the company of cats at Murrr… Cafe and to relax at Mint Vinetu which is one of the cosiest cafes/bookshops I’ve ever been to. They also have dogs there.

Galleries

I’m a huge art fan (contemporary art in particular) which is why I never miss the chance to visit a gallery when I’m in a new city. I’ve been to Vilnius Picture Gallery and National Art Gallery. Both have great collections of works to admire, especially contemporary art works which are truly impressive.

Epilogue

I love that feeling you get when you start walking down the streets of a new city for the first time. Everything is so different and so exciting. You are impressed by the atmosphere, architecture, cuisine, people and the vibe of the city. You enjoy every second it and you realize how many adventures are ahead of you. And that’s probably why we enjoy traveling so much. See ya out there, folks.

--

--