My US Visa Got Approved:

Arts2Survive
5 min readJun 3, 2023

--

A Tale of Trusting the Truth

Yesterday was a memorable day for me — my US visa interview. I thought I’d share the experience with you in detail.

I applied for an M1 visa for taking the CPL/Flight Training course at San Diego Flight Training International. My situation was a bit unusual compared to most applicants. I was funding the CPL course all by myself, with my younger sister as my backup for emergency funds.

Two-cents about me:

“I have a tendency to go with the flow, speaking and reacting naturally, without rehearsed answers. I firmly believe that this authentic communication is the best approach. It keeps me aware of my words and responses, especially to any unexpected questions.”

In preparation for the interview, I ended up watching a few YouTube videos, even though I wasn’t sure they’d help. These videos left me a bit perplexed. They suggested:

  1. One should showcase strong financial roots in India and not disclose any signs of financial hardship,
  2. They also recommended specific, succinct answers and ,
  3. Wear formal attire.

This was a bit challenging for me, as I come from a modest background and I didn’t want to fabricate a false narrative.

I am laughing while writing this part of the story. In a wave of uncertainty, I found myself shopping for a formal shirt and shiny black shoes the day before the interview. :

The shoes I did not put on.

My mentor called to check in and we ran through a mock interview. He echoed the advice from the videos, recommending short and specific answers, particularly about my finances. He suggested saying “family” if asked about the source of funds. This didn’t sit well with me because I was self-funding my training. He warned me that revealing this could lead to additional questions about my job, which could complicate things. Despite my reservations, I listened.

The Big Day:

On the morning of the interview, I had a moment of clarity. I realized I was acting based on other people’s advice, which wasn’t true to who I am. I decided to be myself, dressing casually and planning to speak naturally and honestly. I told myself, “Truth has always worked for me, and if it doesn’t this time, I’ll learn something from it.

With my documents verified, I found myself facing the counselor. She was a woman in her mid-40s, looked liked a boss lady. She had already rejected one guy who attended the interview before me. This made me realise the possibility of getting rejection is indeed true. Anyway, I ignored the stimulus and headed towards the counselor…

The conversation unfolded like this:

Counselor:You work as a Freelance Software Developer, tell me about it.

Me:Instead of just talking about my job, I want to briefly explain why I chose to work as a freelancer. Ever since my childhood, I dreamed of becoming a pilot, which eventually became my family aspiration. However, training to be a pilot is expensive. Therefore, I studied diligently throughout school and joined an engineering program, hoping that it would help me secure the necessary funds. After engineering, I chose freelance work as it provided an opportunity to earn a substantial amount quicker.

Counselor:Okay, what is the total savings?

Me:It’s around 00Lakh. Additionally, my sister is assisting me with the emergency fund.

Counselor:What does she do?

Me: She is also a Software Engineer.

Counselor:Is she based in the US?

Me:No, she works here in India.

Counselor:What does your father do?

Me:He is a serviceman and works in a government office.

Counselor:What exactly does he do?

Me (humbly): “He works in the labour department and does not hold an officer rank.

Counselor:Okay, understood. Tell me how long this course will take?”

Me: “In India, this course usually takes 2.5 to 3 years to complete. However, the institute I have chosen promises that if I prove myself competent enough, I can complete it within 7–8 months.

Counselor (with a look of surprise):No. Are you kidding me? It is impossible to complete this course in 7–8 months. Many people fail check-rides and other tests, and there are other factors too. How can you claim to complete it in 7–8 months?

Me:This is why I’ve mentioned, ‘If I prove myself competent enough,’ it could take 7–8 months. Otherwise, at a normal pace, it would take about a year.

Counselor:Have you joined any ground school yet, and how long does it last?

Me:There is no need to attend ground school here, as I will be attending one in the US.

Counselor (visibly surprised): How can you say that? There…

Me(interrupting gently):It’s not mandatory to attend ground school here. Yes, we do need to prepare for theory papers for DGCA exams. I have enrolled in an online course recently.

Counselor:Yes, yes, but how long will it take?

Me:There are four theory subjects to clear. The time it takes depends on the individual. There’s no fixed standard timeline.

Counselor (looking unsatisfied):What are these subjects? Have you prepared for any single subject until now?

Me: Yes, I’ve only studied Meteorology until now. The other three subjects are Regulations, Air Navigation, and RT, Radio Telephony.

Counselor: “Where are you planning to stay?

Me: “The school is providing the accommodation.

Counselor: “Oh, its here (referring to the I20). Okay. Do you have any family members or even distant relatives who are pilots?

Me:No, none. However, I do have a mentor. He is a captain with around 20 years of flying experience. He guides me in the time of need with informations.

Counselor (smiling and appearing satisfied): Pankaj, I usually don’t approve Pilot Visas, but in your case, I am. Keep this in mind. Please take care.

Me:Thank you. Thank you so much!

I felt an overwhelming sense of relief and joy! Authenticity and a natural flow had won the day. I had been completely honest, even when asked about my father’s job and my financial status. I didn’t try to create a facade of affluence; I was just me.

In hindsight, it’s easy to reflect and give advice. But, at that moment, I was really nervous. My brain was full of thoughts and advice from various sources, which led to confusion. I remembered how calm I had been during my first and second job interviews, and it felt different this time — the level of anxiety was much higher. I stumbled over my words a few times, taking pauses to gather my thoughts. But, I knew I was being true to myself, and this gave me the confidence to counter any cross questions.

I hope this blog post is helpful to those who might be facing a similar situation. Remember, there’s no one-size-fits-all advice.

Thank you for reading.

Follow me: LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook

--

--