Conversation with an Upcoming Artist: Likee

Pankhuri Bhutani
7 min readDec 10, 2019

--

This 17 year old artist from Konstanz, Germany has already achieved a lot of success in regards to his music life. With almost 100,000 streams on Spotify, Likee started his music career by uploading his first track called “Traitor” featuring (S.O.L. ) on December 21st 2018.

His new single “Now I see” has received more than 60,000 streams on Spotify in just two months time. His other tracks include Born For More and Needy All the Time. With almost 7,500 monthly listeners on Spotify and almost 50,000 views on YouTube, he considers “Likee” to be an idea.

Likee limits his talent not only to music. He also shares interest in film-making, dancing, writing composing and designing. He qualified for the national “Dance4fans”competition. He also won the first prize of a national media contest called “Schülermedienpreis”. With great plans for his future work, Likee was kind enough to give some of his time for this interview.

When was the first time you realized you wanted to set your foot in the music industry?

It was a process actually. I grew up with art: my grandma is a painter, my father develops creative games for children and that way I was kind of born into it. I began to dance when I was 4, I started with producing my own movies at the age of 9 and I finally rounded the whole thing up when I was starting to sing and produce music when I got 12. I haven’t written my own songs back then, it was just about covering and producing all the time. As time went by, I started to write own songs, I’ve grown SO MUCH and I got good enough for my music to be released, so I decided to do so in December 2018, now here I am. That was the moment that I knew: this is my thing! My friends were shocked! My family was shocked! People liked it! And I got addicted to this feeling: people liking what I do. So I just keep it up since then.

What response do you expect from your music in the span of 5 years from now?

As my numbers grew exponentially till now, within one year, I really believe that there is A LOT MORE COMING! It‘s awesome! I am really at a point where things could escalate, and that’s what I expect to happen within the next few years… so I somehow know: In 5 years, I am going to be WAY more successful than I am right here, right now. Better music, more fans, more earnings, more shows… simply more successful.

How do you come up with your music? Is there anything you specifically put in your mind before composing your music?

The music is just there. Music is in my mind, anytime. I catch a thought and I make it real.

You know… the music is just there. Music is in my mind, anytime. And what I am supposed to do is let it come out… so I don’t come up with it in a specific way, it comes up as it wants to come up. You can create songs by singing, you can create songs by writing AND you can create songs by thinking! And then you gotta record what you have there and make it real! That’s how I do it! I catch a thought and I make it real.

What challenges did you face with your music and how did you deal with them?

I was totally shocked when I read that over 70% of independent musicians suffer with mental illnesses because I thought I was the only one. We have to suffer a lot. I think this is because we try to assimilate our feelings and problems through music, but sometimes it just doesn’t work and you are frustrated. I lost many people that I really loved in just one week at the beginning of this year which was hard. And I tried to suffer it with music, but my music just wouldn’t develop itself which ended up with me having panic attacks through the whole year. Believe me, it’s not just panic, it’s worse. It was the baddest feeling I ever had, no one could imagine that without feeling it once… it’s HELL. There’s nothing worse in life I think. So yes! There are definitely things I had to suffer… but I’ll still survive them.

If you could go on a world tour, what countries would you prefer to go to first?

I would LOVE TO GO TO INDIA!!! This country loves what I do and really appreciates my creations… I got many followers from there who are so open and friendly, it’s enormous! I actually was asked to take the stage at a festival on Mumbai this year, but I couldn’t do it because of several issues. So if I’d make a world tour, India would definitely be on my list for sure! I also want to perform in the US, because it’s THE place to perform! And I would like to perform in the UK as well… these are my top 3!

If you could take any career besides music, what might it be?

I would always choose a creative one! But when I gotta decide I would say being an AUTHOR is a thing that fits to me. I wrote a lot of books on my own, I made up MANY stories that I also want to realize at some time later… maybe in a movie or as a podcast… dunno. But I‘d still be Dancing, cause I Need this!

If you could collaborate with any one artist, who might they be and why?

I think the best person to collaborate with in my eyes would be Lady Gaga. She has got a special kind of creativity, she has a certain way to come up with ideas and I like that about her. I totally enjoy her voice and I like her sound, so we would make a great song together! It fits to what “Likee” is. A little bit of craziness is never bad in this world!

If you could give advice to the younger as well as the future version of yourself 10 years from now, what might it be?

Don’t waste your time with people that don’t support you. Believe in yourself, don’t let anybody take away what you got and SHOW THE WORLD that you got it! Remember what you are doing this for. The world! Follow your way!

If you had the opportunity to open for an artist/band, who might they be and why?

If I make a show, it’s going to be AWESOME! I’d never ever do a show without great dancing, special vibes and breathtaking visuals… so I think that wouldn’t fit to openings… I am not that kind of simple performing artist without saying that simple performances are bad, I just want to make my performances spectacular. I’d rather be the main show!

Who do you consider your biggest inspiration?

Michael Jackson will always be the one who brought me to dancing and he keeps the BEST SONG THAT WAS EVER MADE in his hands: Man In The Mirror. I will never stop seeing him as THE ICON.

What message are you trying to convey from your music?

It’s all about freedom, joy and individuality! Everything I do is based on what I want to change in people’s lives… it’s actually too much to explain it further but I got the impression that the whole world’s society needs a fresh up, which I’m trying to give! I want people to use the freedom they have when they have it, cause it’s absolutely not an obvious thing… we fought for it for a whole MILLENNIUM! I try to inspire people and I try to touch EVERY SINGLE individual with what I do… I stand for freedom, fun, and joy!!! In a unique way which is also important to me as an artist. I want people to be innovative and follow their dreams to make this world a better place all in all. If I make it and get famous, I’ll use the reach I have for society’s revolution. That’s my goal for life, it’s really important to me!

Is there anything you would like to say to your fans?

I love you! You’re the best, your support means everything to me and we’ll rise up together, I know that. We are powerful, we are great! Don’t let anyone destroy your dreams… show them that you have the guts to MAKE IT!!! Let’s change this world to a better place all you people!

Likee is one of the uprising artists in the industry and subscribing to his channel is definitely worth a shot. It’ll take just a minute to go on to his YouTube channel and subscribe to him. Make sure you follow him on Spotify and all social media platforms as well!

Thank you for reading this article. I would like to thank Likee for taking out his precious time for this interview. I would love to know your thoughts about this interview! If you liked this interview, please give it a clap and follow me for more articles like these. It’ll be a great encouragement for me.

--

--

Pankhuri Bhutani

Writer, Interviewer. Twitter- @pankhurib99 Instagram- @pankhuribhutani9 Email- pankhuribhutani@ymail.com Recognised Top Writer in Music