Staycations Are Underrated

Paolo Mottola
2 min readOct 23, 2015

--

Today is my last day of a surprisingly satisfying two-week staycation.

I didn’t realize I would enjoy being home so much. We spend so many weekends and hours outside the “9 to 5” (or “7 to 7” if you’re in New York) getting away from home, and when we take vacations they’re always abroad.

We constantly abandon home when given the chance.

There’s too much to see and do in the world. And that’s certainly true. I’ve got as long of a travel bucket list as anyone. I hoard my vacation time for big international trips. I may die with a regret of never having a job with flight benefits.

But staying home has its perks, I’ve learned.

It’s more time in a comfortable place to be creative and inspired. If you want to be practical about it, more time at home justifies the mortgage. When you travel, how much would you want to spend on a hotel you only sleep at?

The force function of staying home and catalyst for the staycation was the arrival of my daughter, Eliza. Of course, she’s keeping the staycation enjoyable, demanding and sleepless, but I’ve enjoyed the time spent at home beyond parenting.

Because of my work schedule, I rarely see my local neighborhood in daylight, especially during the dark Pacific Northwest fall and winter months. I don’t get to talk to neighbors on the street or go to local restaurants. I don’t run errands. I don’t spend enough time caring for my home, the yard or rooms. I don’t pick up my guitar enough or work on post-processing all of the photos I take.

Most importantly, I don’t spend enough time just hanging out.

I’ve had a chance to do all of the above these past two weeks, and it’s been wonderful.

Instead of catching up on email in the morning, I’m catching up on cuddle time with my daughter. Instead of a budget planning meeting at 1 p.m., I’m throwing the frisbee with my border collie. Instead of sitting in traffic at 5 p.m., I’m making dinner with my wife — and eating at the table with her.

This feels like living.

It’s easy to get satisfied with the routine of work and the correlated lack of time spent at home and with loved ones and loved places.

There’s good reason to go big on your next vacation, but there’s also a time and place (your home) for a staycation. I recommend putting that on your bucket list.

--

--

Paolo Mottola

In constant pursuit of excellence as a husband and new Dad. Spend 9–5 managing content @REI, 5–9 playing outside in the PNW.