Uncovering the Hidden Pain We Choose to Ignore

A Journey to Healing

Patrick Owens
3 min readJul 20, 2024
Photo by Taras Chernus on Unsplash

Life often seems to consist of a hazy mix of highs, lows, and everything in between. We could convince ourselves that tough emotions and unresolved issues are trivial in the middle of this chaos.

However, we risk not living fully if we ignore these unseen sufferings. This post will discuss why it is that we choose to ignore our pain and provide some steps for addressing it and starting the healing process.

Wake-Up Call

It wasn’t until I broke down in front of a friend that I realized I had been hiding my pain behind a mask of busyness and denial.

I was completely changed by this exposed moment and began to question why I had been putting off solving my problems for so long.

The Pain We Choose to Ignore

A typical coping strategy is to ignore pain. Our culture favours strength and productivity, frequently conflating vulnerability with weakness.

Many of us are pressured by society to repress our feelings because we think that if we don’t talk about them, they will go away, says psychologist Dr Brené Brown.

However, this strategy is rarely successful. Rather, unresolved anguish may show itself as relational…

--

--

Patrick Owens

Hi, Patrick here. Storyteller exploring life's wonders. From business insights to personal growth, I share wisdom and inspiration through words. Let's connect!