If I Owned a Work Note Vending Machine, I’d Be a Millionaire.

Why companies should reconsider their work note policies.

Greg Gafni-Pappas
6 min readMay 29, 2019
Photo by Steven Su on Unsplash

I have often joked around with colleagues about starting a new business aimed at providing work notes to patients.

The idea would be to create vending machines with pre-filled work notes that could be purchased for $1. They would guarantee a day off of work, with the Hancock of a physician.

Given the number of work notes written each and every day, I’d be a millionaire in no time.

I know what you’re thinking.

First of all, it’s completely unethical. If the physician doesn’t see the patient, how could they morally sign a work note?

Furthermore, wouldn’t patients abuse the system, pay the $1 and get an excused absence any time they so choose?

You’re probably right on both accounts. So let me relieve your anxiety and tell you that I have no plans to open this business. But for the sake of argument, let me explain my reasons for continuing this farce.

Physicians will write a work note for anyone.

If a patient takes the time to go to the doctor, urgent care, or emergency department with an illness or injury, they are…

--

--

Greg Gafni-Pappas

Emergency physician, patient advocate, entrepreneur, sci-fi novelist, challenging the status quo