New Paracord Project Box. I’m just excited to launch my first subscription product. :)

paracordprojectbox
2 min readFeb 21, 2016

--

I was a nerdy kid who liked to build things. In the Boy Scouts I really enjoyed the rope work and knot tying we learned. My dad always knew just the right knot to use in any situation, be it for camping or building something. I always admired that.

A while back I started making things with parachute cord, or “paracord” to be more exact. You know those survival bracelets like in the Mad Max movie? That’s made with paracord.

Buonaparte69 at English Wikipedia [CC BY 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

You can make all kinds of amazing gear and crafts with paracord, such as lanyards, belts, pulls, key fobs, votives, just a ton of stuff, and even animals. It’s a lot of fun to make something new.

By Markwell (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By GA-Kayaker (“Mrs. Knotty” Volleyball BagBuddy) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Now I’m a dad, with two kids who are just old enough to really enjoy tying bracelets, necklaces, basically anything with cord. And they love watching me work.

I really enjoy sharing this hobby with them, and wanted to share it with the rest of the world as well.

Today I’m excited to announce Paracord Project Box, a subscription box for making things out of paracord.

Every kit will include all the cord, accessories, tools, and easy to follow instructions (in written form, drawings, and video to suit different learning styles).

I also include a “Knot Of The Month” with its history, what it’s best used for (like in camping, etc.), and more.

Many of these knots qualify for Boy Scout Merit Badges, too.

This is very much a “minimum viable product,” but I think it’s a good place to start.

Constructive criticism and/or actionable feedback would be greatly appreciated.

In the end I would like to mention three resources that were very helpful to me:

ParacordProjectBox.com

--

--