Locus of Identity

Parikansh Ahluwalia
2 min readDec 13, 2018

--

One of the virtually countless lines of the countless episodes, played on my laptop in the last few days:

You have an external locus of identity!

So, what’s so special of this seemingly random line?

What is identity?

A unique set of values in different columns of information related to him? The designation on his visiting card? The number of medals on his uniform?

Or is it simply a way to express people’s perception of him? A subjective description of him, by people around him.

Or is it an image painted and projected by him, and only himself!

Ok. But external locus of identity ?

It’s a concept of human behaviour where one’s actions and identity are shaped up by external factors. The person’s identity being controlled by others.

The person constantly looking for something to give shape to his ideas, in order to match others expectations and views.

And that’s what hit me! Left me with doubts unanswered. No video lectures to help me with this!

Do I have an identity?

Is it completely based on some discrete events in time and space? Or it’s a continuous curve?

Is it same for everyone or different for all?

Do I want it to be different for some specific people?

Everything I do is to change someone’s opinion about me? Is this piece of writing is just a manifestation of that?

So, do I have an external locus of identity?

If yes, should I or should I not? Should I aim to shift that locus?

Is my asking this, the most ironical thing?

--

--

Parikansh Ahluwalia

I write stories that I see around me, which you should notice too!