Parinita Chandan
3 min readJul 3, 2022

Kya Chahiye re tereko? “Duniya”

Just like how “The Rocky Bhai” knew he wanted “Duniya,” I think I knew I would like to get into technology and programming…

With this clarity, school, college, and regular studies started seeming more like hindrances than an enabler. I started feeling like I might waste a lot of time if I took the standard educational route.

I didn’t have anyone in my circle to discuss this path, share my thoughts, or listen to their experience. Though I was excited and curious at the same time to travel the road less traveled (or maybe even build that road on the journey), I had questions about how this would be as I had never tried to learn any programming languages at a professional level.

Inspired by Rocky’s dialogue, Samundar kitna gehra hai.. Gehrai jaane bina uspe raaj nahi kiya jata hai I said, Chalo, maap hi lete hain, and dropped out of college after my 10th exams in May 2022.

For the last six weeks, starting 23rd May, I have been working (Yaa. Working, not Studying. I get to apply everything I learn daily) as a “Learner” (since he hasn’t offered me any role officially yet) at my father’s office.

Daily, 4–5 hours I spend training my brain with all the necessary programming constructs and concepts with 100 Days of Code: Python Bootcamp. Every period used to be like a never-ending saga during school, and minutes used to feel like an hour. But now I don’t know how fast the time goes. I don’t even remember checking the time now.

Over the past six weeks, I have learned:

  1. Coding Standards to keep your code readable/understandable
  2. Python (I have learned a good amount of modules to build something on my own)
  3. Sharpened my debugging and problem-solving skills
  4. Becoming good at how to Google
  5. Email/SMS/API Integrations
  6. More importantly, I understand a problem, break it down into steps, apply what I have learned, and figure out what is not known.
  7. The biggest take away How to self-learn.

I spend 2–3 hours reading books besides learning programming and technology.

  1. Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon: It’s challenging to develop a new original idea today. But we can get inspired by all the good things available today and use/extend them to create a better world. While you do all the essential things, you must do some silly and boring things to keep your thoughts fresh. (So, spending all my remaining time with Korean and Mandarin Series on Netflix. My mom has become a massive fan of these series now. And we take this as revenge against my dad’s Narcos, Money Heist, and other 18+ Series.)
  2. Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari: Still reading. I will write about this in my next blog.
Parinita Chandan

College DropOut. Learning to Code. Hope to build products and business.