IELTS Exam Sample Questions on IELTS Speaking Topic — Garage Sale

Parmar Sneha
3 min readMar 26, 2024

--

In our IELTS Speaking Questions and Topics App You will get 3600 IELTS Speaking Questions with answers. CLICK HERE to download. You can buy our E-book from HERE as well. For overall English Learning try out A-Z English Learning App. For Blogs do CHECKOUT our website.

11000 IELTS Questions with Answers in our app. CLICK HERE to download.
To buy This Book CLICK HERE

A garage sale is a type of informal sale where people sell used household items they no longer need. They usually take place in someone’s garage or front yard, hence the name.

Do you have garage sales in your country?

Yes, garage sales are quite common in my country. People often use them to clear out unwanted items and make a bit of extra money.

Have ever stopped at a garage sale in this country?

Actually, yes! I love browsing garage sales. There’s a certain thrill in finding unexpected treasures at bargain prices.

Do you know how to haggle or negotiate a lower price?

I do, to an extent. While I’m not the most aggressive haggler, I don’t shy away from negotiating if I think the price is a bit high. It’s important to be friendly and respectful when haggling.

What are some things that you need, that you might find at a garage sale?

I’m always on the lookout for interesting books, kitchenware, and maybe some vintage records at garage sales. You never know what hidden gems you might find!

When you stop at a garage sale do you always buy something?

Not always. Sometimes I enjoy simply browsing and seeing what people have for sale. However, if I see something I really like and the price is right, I’ll definitely try to snag it.

What are some reasons that people have garage sales?

There are many reasons. Often, people have garage sales when they’re downsizing, when they are simply decluttering their homes, or to earn some extra cash. Sometimes, people might have them before a move to avoid packing and transporting items they no longer want.

What season are there the most garage sales?

In my experience, spring and summer seem to be the busiest seasons for garage sales. The nice weather usually makes it more convenient for people to set up and shop.

Do you enjoy shopping at garage sales?

Yes, I do! I find it exciting to hunt for unique items and potentially find good deals. Plus, it’s a great way to support your local community and perhaps give used items a new life.

What have you bought at a garage sale?

I’ve found some amazing things over the years! Some of my favorites include a vintage lamp, a couple of interesting board games, and a cozy reading chair.

--

--