Mac: It Just Works—Terribly

a place of mind
9 min readMay 5, 2022

Gone are the days when Apple could claim that “It Just Works”.

Mac from a Programmer’s Perspective

Let’s cut to the chase: Mac’s problems are bigger and older than you think. In this post I’m going to mention three major problems that I’ve been dealing with in the past few days since my migration back to Mac (right now I’m on Macbook Pro M1 Pro). I used to have a 2015 Macbook Pro too, and All the following problems existed on that machine too. In fact, my quest to solve these issues has taken me to ancient forums and threads dating all the way back to the late 2000s!

Honestly, it’s a shame that Apple has not yet fixed any of these issues, while boasting about macOS as “The Most Advanced Operating System”. Between dropping my Macbook Pro 2015 and now, I used Windows for work and personal stuff and never experienced any such issues with it. Sure, Windows does have many other problems, but at least they don’t make me pull my hair and regret spending almost $3000 on a brand new machine. IMO, it’s unfortunate that the power of M1 is being wasted on such an outdated crappy macOS. Let’s look at the problems. Feel free to skim the headings.

Mac Problems that Ruined it For Me

1. Mac’s incompatibility with most external monitors

1.1. Monitor is Detected as TV! No RGB Color Profile.

--

--