iPhone Photography: 9 Super Cool Steps to Designing Your Frame 🙌🏻

Pasha Francuz
6 min readSep 3, 2023

… It was never so fun for me but now I can mix the factures like soft and hard. It is a kind of design environment, like playing with texture and bringing some small details into the frame.

Twin Peaks, San Francisco, 2019 (apple iPhone 6)

Now I can use almost anything to fill the frame. People, chairs, flowers … because it will all depend on where you’re shooting.

But let's start from our usual “But before …” 😂 I would love to share with you something really cool and interesting to think about and start using immediately: I’m talking about “9 classical types of frame” that I borrowed from cinematography. You can think this way, as this is the “size of the shot” or the size of the main object/subject in the frame.

So, what I mean by that for example take a look first one from these 9 types “Extreme Long Shot” (take a look image below 👇🏻). As the name implies, is expansive in its scope. This shot typically serves as an introduction to a new setting, effectively establishing the spatial context for the unfolding action. Its purpose is to provide viewers with a clear understanding of the environment. Depending on its execution, a wide shot can evoke various emotions. It can impart a sense of isolation and ambiguity when the protagonist stands alone in an expansive, empty space, or conversely, it can convey a feeling of being…

--

--

Pasha Francuz

I’ll stop you at the moment to see how to eat with your eyes first, with no camera at all! It’s a place where I'll guide you by just slowly observing life …