Are You Sure You Don't Want Another House Plant

These houseplants are easily propagated and divided for more plants.

Merr Gumm
3 min readDec 12, 2022
Aloes gone rogue. Photo by M.Gumm

I am a plant hoarder and have been most of my life. In the wintertime my entire house is overrun with houseplants. They multiply seemingly overnight. It may have something to do with the fact that I can’t let any falling leaf or broken branch be discarded. I quickly plunk them in water or dirt to root and create more plants.

Over the years, I’ve learned which plants do better for me. Aloes, Succulents and Jade plants are great for multiplying and dividing. I root the leaves of Jade plants directly in dirt.

Jade plant grown from one leaf years ago. Photo by M.Gumm

I divide and replant Aloes and Succulents. Aloes grow smaller babies that can be gently pulled off the mother plant and repotted. Just remember Aloes and Jade plants don't need a lot of water. Perfect for those of us who are forgetful.

This aloe needs to be dividedl. This will make multiple new plants. Photo by MGumm

Spider plants are a great reproducer. At the end of their long shoots, they sport more babies. The babies…

--

--

Merr Gumm

I enjoy writing about beach and farm life, religion, human rights, and the unusual. Primarily fiction and poetry.