GoDaddy Domains: My Experience

Will Lawson
6 min readNov 27, 2019

You might be wondering what on earth a domain is?

Well, domain names exist to make IP addresses much easier to remember. Every computer no matter the type has its own individual IP address assigned to it, similarly to the number stamped on your letterbox for your house, unit or business.

Instead of having to remember all those variations of IP Addresses, a domain name is assigned in its place, to make it more simple to remember. The domain name system (DNS), takes domain names and translates them into their IP addresses so that computers can communicate with one another, pretty neat right?

When you enter a domain name into your web browser, whether it be Google Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Opera the browser uses that domain name to find its corresponding IP address and then shows you the website associated with it.

Rewind to 2015- I purchased my first domain through GoDaddy as part of my efforts to create my very first website. The process was pretty straight forward with the usual up-sells associated with domain purchasing, such as site security, privacy, and others; but all I was interested in was having my very own domain.

World’s most popular domain platform

Click Here To Get yours today from GoDaddy.

--

--

Will Lawson

will-lawson.com I write about tech, online business building and some hobbies to keep things interesting.