Stuart Range

Delfino
2 min readMar 20, 2022

--

Stuart Range, oil pastels on canvas, 32"x12" ©Delfino Cornali 2007

a panoramic view deep in the Cascade Mountains of Washington…

The Esmeralda Basin trail north of Teanaway, Washington brings you to the edge of the Stuart Range in the Cascade Mountains. As the the trail tops out, you come to this amazing vista of jagged granite peaks. This view captivated me from the first moment I saw it, in July 2006. Even in summer, snowfields dot the shadows beneath the peaks.

The following year, I began work on this piece. It was my first attempt at a panorama. Once I realized that the canvas surface would allow me to pile up the pastels, I began abstracting the shadows and rocks into flowing shapes. I wanted to capture the energy of the setting, rather than fussing over details. I used fine-pointed paper stumps quite a bit, where I re-worked the pastel to blend, build and create texture (especially on the foreground tree branches.)

I framed the final work and submitted it for an informal art show where I worked. My office mates loved this piece the best — they didn’t much care for my more abstract pieces.

My stepson Matt, who backpacked & rock climbed all over the Stuart Range when he lived in Washington, now owns this piece.

Inspiration Esmeralda Basin Trail, Teanaway WA

--

--

Delfino

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.