Henry, How Many Surveys?

Pat Anderson Artist
3 min readJul 8, 2021

--

The innovative Henry Flagler knew all about something called Submerged Land.

It is a fact of life here in Florida that he encountered in his journey to expand his Florida East Coast Railway all the way to The Keys. He was given a 200 ft. right-of-way in his quest, and brought in William J. Krome, a civil engineer, to survey the landscape to see the best place to build.

Speaking of submerged land, for those of you wanting to know more about it, there is a new place being constructed in Pompano Beach called Wahoo Bay. It will be located just to the south of the Hillsboro Inlet and will be a marine estuary, a laboratory where kids and adults can learn more about the ocean and sea waters. The underwater marine park has a special system called SEAHIVE that will protect the shoreline from erosion and flooding in a way that is safe to the environment. Pompano! Magazine did an interesting article about the project recently too.

Preserving the environment is surely important, and something I have always supported. I have loved having my summer camp down at the Marine Science Center in Pigeon Key with our patented LEAF BAR easels under the Solar Canopy there. It has been quite a sight to see. Sustainability is key!

Since I have been unable to have classes this year, I have spent my time learning about great new places in the works in my community, like Wahoo Bay, and also reading more about Henry Flagler. I think I read “Last Train to Paradise” by Les Standiford five times! That book was published by the Henry Morrison Flagler Museum (which is up in Palm Beach). I also read “Henry Flagler and the Spectacular Rise and Fall of the Railroad That Crossed an Ocean.” If you want to know more, check those out! I like to research at the History Miami Museum as well.

--

--

Pat Anderson Artist

Pat Anderson has painted Plein Air since a child of ten doing drawings while car traveling with parents from New York to Miami Beach.