Why Linux is Best for Most People

Linux isn’t just for experts. Some Linux flavors are specifically designed for average users.

Pat Alcala
5 min readJan 10, 2024
Photo by Gabriel Heinzer on Unsplash

Like most people, my first computer experience started with Windows. It is where I learn how to use a mouse, keyboard typing, creating folders, organizing files, and, most memorable of all, playing video games.

But as my computer knowledge and understanding grow, the more I get frustrated by Windows. I tried and used every major release of Windows, from XP to 11. And no matter how polished it is and how modern it evolves, it still suffers from the same problems: crashes, viruses, unnecessary and forced updates, etc. I think people who spend a lot of time on Windows would agree.

I have no personal experience with MacOS, but as far as I’m aware, some people, especially Apple fans, prefer it more than Windows; the only problem was the price. MacOS is a lot more expensive, and that’s because you’re not just buying a computer from the Apple Store; you’re buying an all-in-one Apple machine. Wait, I’m beginning to sound like an Apple commercial, but let me explain what I mean. MacOS isn’t just pre-installed; it’s part of the machine. Software and hardware are bound together, meaning the Apple M-series CPU was specifically designed to run on the iMac, MacBook, Mac Studio, and Mac Pro…

--

--

Pat Alcala

Computer Engineer, Writer, and Technology enthusiast | Buy me a coffee https://ko-fi.com/patalcala