I Found It: a GPS-Enabled LoRaWAN Device …

Patrick Burns
1 min readMay 10, 2017

It advertises 10 hours (yes, hours, not years) of battery life:

Yes, it’s a field testing device and not a “true” mobile endpoint. But … this is the only LoRaWAN GPS out there that I see.

Update: Found another device with a 820 mAh battery which might last three weeks.

Note: GPS devices whose batteries survive three weeks have been tried before in the cellular community with well-known results.

If I learn about more of these I will post them here. But now, come on people, LoRaWAN wasn’t made for GPS and it isn’t a networking stack for people building serious IoT products.

If you liked this article, please hit the ❤ icon below and follow me.

--

--

Patrick Burns

CEO @ Haystack, Internet of Things tech pioneer and now blockchains, dad, martial artist, sometimes mountaineer & jazz pianist. http://bit.ly/2waHJHj