Front Yard Party

Family gatherings have now moved to the front of the house

Cynthia Patrick
2 min readJul 28, 2020
Photo by frankie cordoba on Unsplash

Growing up, I remember my family and families in the neighborhood would have yard parties. As a youngster, it was one of my favorite things to do. There would be people in the house, but the majority of everyone would be in the backyard. The DJ would be set up by the fence, and there would be tables and tents set up with all the food you could imagine.

Your age would determine what time you had to go into the house or to bed. My brothers being older could stay out way past dark, and with me being the baby of the family, I was the first to go inside. Most parties that were at my house were indoors, so when it was my bedtime, I had to adjourn upstairs, away from the grown-ups.

The yard party was different because with everyone outside drinking, playing cards, and throwing horseshoes, there was no one to make sure I went upstairs to bed. I could smoothly go to the living room and watch TV, which only had five channels at the time, or sit on the steps in the front and watch the cars as they come and go. Either way, I got to stay up late and enjoy the party with the grown-ups and have a good time as well.

Today, yard parties are very different. First, the oldest person at the party is 30+, and she is the grandma. Second, the stimulant is now alcohol and a wide variety of drugs. Cocaine, Meth, Xanax, and a ton of Marijuana are only a few of the things passed around at these parties. Last, the party has now moved to the front yard, including the sidewalk and into the street.

The majority of the participants do not have jobs, so their party can go on until 5:00 or 6:00 am with music loud enough to be heard in neighboring cities. The yard parties in my community are violent and reckless. They have changed so much that I no longer accept invitations to attend. These parties are all about getting high, argumentative, and being loud; they do not even include food. I think I am just too old to enjoy the new version of yard parties.

It is time for me to look for a new neighborhood that is more mindful of senior needs. I better get started looking for a new place to live before I become the next casualty in my community.

--

--

Cynthia Patrick

I am a very active senior who loves to write and help others. Meditation and gemstones I use for healing.