Stop Overestimating Your Problems and Underestimating Yourself

Transform Obstacles into Stepping Stones for Success

Patience Hunter
3 min readMar 18, 2024
Photo by Daniel Velásquez on Unsplash

We all face challenges and problems now and again, whether in our personal or professional lives. However, adapting one’s mindset allows for transformative insights and turns potential obstacles into opportunities for growth and success.

Understanding problems is crucial, but you can also try underestimating them by using a strategic approach of not giving problems more power than they deserve.

I like to get things done ASAP, but most importantly, I get impatient with myself if I feel issues are still outstanding past the timeframes I have in mind that they should be sorted out.

I have found this can be both a blessing and a curse, as I sometimes feel overwhelmed and discouraged that I don’t make things happen fast enough.

I may wallow in self-pity for a bit, but instead of staying defeated, I use setbacks as motivation to reflect, review, pivot, improve my skill set, and keep moving forward even when the odds appear challenging.

It always seems impossible until it’s done.”

Nelson Mandela

How to develop a problem-solving mindset.

--

--

Patience Hunter

I write about self-improvement with a dose of motivation and sprinkle of resilience.