How I started applying minimalism to design

Patricia Tamanaka
2 min readFeb 8, 2020

Why less is more? When I began studying the roots of minimalism, what highlighted was associations and overlaps between minimalism and others movements. Expressing only the most essential and getting rid of excessive components and features. One of these movements is Bauhaus, it epitomizes tenets of German design and a influential force in design. Proving what's possible when designers combine minimalism and mass production and a famous line in Bauhaus which stressed for me that any design put a priority on usability and aesthetic considerations in second. I sought a way for my career and I found in the simplicity, flexibility and functionality. Even though, the design concept has been used in various history times, it’s relatively new concept as far as design is concerned.

Minimalism movement

One of references about minimalism is always in my life was Japan's traditional culture of Zen philosophy. Besides today's synonym of meditation and calm, Zen means minimalism in design. However, my ancestry is from there I had never thought how this philosophy could make in my career. One of Japanese aesthetic get along with me is Origami. I have been branched off and incorporate in different ways. Mixing materials and techniques to make new combinations of traditional design into current days.

Minimalism and Technology

The technology have always been present in my life. When I connected and learnt more about design, minimalism and technology, as result is user experience.

Especially the internet has been breeding for the expansion of minimalism, different styles borrow and inspired from it. Also influenced to make progress in spaces to create layouts into Flat Design and Material Design for maximum function, understandable and aesthetics. Making functional design and help people connect to the products.

--

--