Visiting Carl Jung’s Tower in Bollingen

Patricia Kucmanova
12 min readJan 31, 2020

.. after running away from the ‘woke’ world.

at the Bollingen Tower.

I went to visit Carl Jung’s Tower in Bollingen, Switzerland.

First time the idea to visit it crossed my mind exactly three years ago. Back then I just got off my little part of Camino de Compostela and spent two weeks homeless in big Spanish cities. Homeless, because I always ran out of money faster than convenient, somewhat stuck in the habit of attempting big travels with too little money. It would also not come to mind to find a place to stay on couchsurfing as human contact wasn’t necessarily something I craved, and self-sabotage was a bigger tool in my tool belt than self-care or self-preservation. And so I strangely chose to sleep on benches, get eaten by swarms of mosquitos and go hungry, dirty, and absolutely desperate at times. But strong in conviction I was at the bare-bone depth of things where insights into the nature of life and universe dwell.

At that time, I was also still London-broken from living in the city for nine painful months; and Stonehenge-revived after running away from it to the sacred fields stretching along the laylines crossing the english country-side. I moved to England after having finished years long travels across North America. In the land of dreams and liberty I did what I was used to- traveling on very little to no money, but a philosophical…

--

--