The Abundance Experiment (Week 2)

Patricia Lemieux
3 min readMay 22, 2018
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Counting My Blessings

I’m healthy and happy and feeling delightfully comfortable. Abundant even.

I’m grateful for my husband, my life, and the Oxford comma. I’m grateful for healthy kitty cats. Though I’m experiencing disenchantment with my part time job, I can still give a shout-out of gratitude that it allows my to sustain myself.

I’m grateful for the lessons that my chronically ill brother is teaching me about grace at the end of life.

I appreciate the spring time more than anyone could possible know. I’m grateful for the rains we had for the last two weeks. The spring flowers are spectacular and I’m loving all my lilacs and irises. I have a hard time appreciating the weeds that showed up with the rain but I’m grateful that it’s easy to pull them right now.

The addition to my appreciation rituals this week was paying my bills. As I made out a check or filled out bill pay or handed over my credit card, I said a quick blessing for the money that was leaving my hands to do good things in the world. I also expressed my gratitude that I had the funds to pay each bill or obligation. Those two things actually soothed my soul and stopped the panic.

Contemplating My Navel

--

--

Patricia Lemieux

Midlife Blogger, Artist, Seeker, Techie. People tell me I'm funny, but I'm not sure if they mean that in a good way. https://thezenintrovert.com/