AI artist showcase — Chris Hackett

Patrick Abadi
2 min readSep 28, 2022

--

Tell us a bit about your background

Trained actor turned filmmaker. I started as an actor falling in love with the live audience in theater and the depth of acting for film. I went behind the camera to further that feeling for every actor I work with. I continued with varied works in both live action and animation.

How did you get started in AI Art?

I turned to AI generative art when I saw people making not just beautiful work but textures and insert images. Things I had paid into marketplaces for. I began with vqgan+clip, Wombo and Nightcafe. Slowly expanding my use to any model I could get my hands on. I’m glad to be a Google Collab Pro user and generate almost every hour of every day.

Which AI Art tools do you use most and why?

I’m almost exclusively in Deforum (Stable Diffusion) notebook at this point. Previously I had been in Disco Diffusion. I use stable for the reason I got into AI art which is photorealism. I have been developing a horror project called “Deathtakers” for over 10 years. The monsters and universe are remixes of so many parts of the horror and zombie genre, I’ve hired concept artists and done a ton of 3d modeling to get the looks I’ve wanted but none have come as close as easily as stable diffusion has.

Tell us about some of your accomplishments

As of yet with my art I feel privileged to be in a collection with some of the top artists in the space. AiRobotics is a cool set with imagery I’m honestly jealous I couldn’t provide but definitely see my presence stand out. Using AI generated imagery I hope to expand my shelf of awards in film, bring stories the world hasn’t seen yet.

Any parting words of wisdom?

In this space its easy to get frustrated. Tools are often in continuous beta and always changing. Experimentation is key, community even more so. Come to be a good community member and always try out the new tools available. Be truthful in what works and what doesn’t, always give honest feedback and be open to everything.

Check more articles by Chris Hackett here

--

--