I Never Thought I Would Love a Thick Girl, But I Do

Patrick Byron
5 min readMay 8, 2020

Looks Aren’t Everything

They say bigger is better but I never agreed when it came to women.

I always sought out the most attractive and slimmest or fittest woman I could find.

I have no doubt that my concept of feminine beauty was shaped by what I saw on television growing up.

There was the long and lean Barbara Bach as Daisey Duke in the original Dukes of Hazzard wearing her extremely short and terrifically tight cut offs.

There was the leggy German blonde bombshell and supermodel Claudia Schiffer in her Guess ads and posters that soon adorned my walls.

Who could forget the original Charlie’s Angels, or even the rebooted version in 2000 with that blonde goddess Cameron Diaz. Let’s not mention the 2019 version that totally bombed at the box office.

Even the female pop stars that I liked were skinny Minnies. Sade, Gwen Stefani, the Bangles and the Go-Go’s were all slender.

When Carrie Underwood first appeared on Americal Idol she was pretty but had a small amount of baby fat on her.

After she won the competition and landed a recording contract she quickly transformed into the fit and beautiful goddess that she is now.

--

--