5 Common Misconceptions about Tesla & Electric Vehicles

Patrick Garrity
4 min readJan 8, 2020

--

I recently purchased a Tesla Model 3 and I happen to live and work in the automotive mecca of the US--Detroit. The Metro Detroit region is flush with automotive manufacturers and suppliers who provide a significant amount of jobs for the greater metro Detroit region. I happen to live about a mile from the new Rivian headquarters who is launching its first electric truck soon.

I’ve owned Ford vehicles most of my life and Tesla was the first real alternative I considered. I’ve been considering buying a Tesla for the past few years. After the consistent positive love for Tesla from my peers and friends that have picked them up over the years, I decided to purchase one for myself two months ago.

I’ve enjoyed driving the Tesla and find it interesting the misconceptions and objections I get to handle from driving a Tesla. I find myself in many interesting conversations educating people about Tesla, electric vehicles and Software.

Here are five common Tesla and electronic vehicle misconceptions…

Electric cars often run out of power
The top question I’ve received from people is, “What do you do when you run out of power?” In 2 months of driving a Tesla, I’ve never experienced a range issue. I installed a 220V charger in my home which I believe is a must when owning an electric vehicle.

One of the benefits of having an electric vehicle is the fact that I never have to go to a gas station again. Who says, “I love going to fill my car with gas!”? I certainly don’t miss getting that morning gasoline smell on my hands or spending $5 on absurdly unhealthy snacks.

The Tesla Model 3 I own has a range of 310 miles and when used for long road trips, Tesla navigation pre-plans the supercharger locations I would need to stop at along the way as part of the route. I have yet to use any charger other than the one at my home. Tesla superchargers “take about 20 minutes to charge to 50%, 40 minutes to charge to 80%, and 75 minutes to 100%” as referenced in Wikipedia. Tesla is also slashing charging times by 50% at its new chargers, highlighted by TechCrunch. My guess is you are more likely to run out of gas.

Tesla charging in the garage

Tesla is a foreign car company
Living in the Midwest, there is a rather large amount of people that believe in an immortal sin --“Thou shalt not buy a foreign car.” Understandably, Detroit is considered the “Motor City,” right? But what people mean is that you should buy a vehicle from Ford, GM or Chrysler. So this one makes me laugh and is an easy one to educate people on. “Tesla, Inc. is an American automotive and energy company,” according to Wikipedia. Oh, and I need to remind people that Chrysler is owned by FIAT which is a foreign car company. For real!

Electric cars are weak
Want to go for a ride? I’ll let you drive!… Pretty much everyone says yes and when they experience the car, they are blown away. I don’t even have the performance package yet their descriptions range from feelings of “space shuttle take off,” “unbelievable handling” and “it’s like a rollercoaster ride.” Zero to 60 in 4.4 seconds is no joke. But the other reality is, it’s silent upon acceleration. The instant linear torque is what gives it that rollercoaster-like feel. For $2k I can get a software update that upgrades the car to accelerate from zero to 60 MPH in 3.9s. The software can enable performance and experience improvements without requiring new physical components. The Performance version of the Model 3 can go from zero to 60 in 2.9 seconds for under $60k and is on par with a Ferrari 488 GTB.

Electric batteries need to be replaced and are expensive
I haven’t had a car that I drove beyond two hundred thousand miles so I think I’m good with 300,000–500,000 miles and the cost for replacement.

More importantly, though is the fact that electric vehicles significantly reduce maintenance overhead and costs. The typical gas vehicle has 20,000+ parts and they are mostly mechanical and move. With an electric vehicle, there are <10,000 parts and most of them don’t move. That means no more oil changes, engine service, transmission replacements, spark plugs and other maintenance required by gas vehicles.

Autonomous driving means you don’t drive at all
I dreaded the unpredictable 30–60 minute commute to work until one day when I got my Tesla. I opted for the AutoPilot upgrade which allows you to enable a mode that autonomously drives the car on most roads and highways. It maintains your lane, performs interchange and lane changes, maintains your preferred speed, brakes and accelerates. I keep a hand on the wheel and eyes on the road while relaxing as I commute into work. I don’t feel in a rush to get to work and the anxiety from stop and go traffic has gone away. Autonomy is here and it doesn’t need to be the car having 100% complete control at all times. On the highway, I can choose to drive when I want to drive.

Go get a Tesla!
Tesla has created an amazing and unique driving experience that is incredibly disruptive to the automotive industry. I think it’s encouraging to see the auto manufacturers following their lead and I am looking forward to an electrified and autonomous future. After two months of driving, I have to be honest, I can’t see myself owning anything but a Tesla. Go buy a Tesla!

--

--

Patrick Garrity

Proven leader with a love for building teams, scaling companies, solving customers problems and making the world a better and more fun place!