Actresses I’ve Admired

Patrick Prescott
5 min readJun 6, 2024

I’ve lusted after many actresses in my three score and ten years. Here they are in no particular order.

Marylin Monroe: ABC in the 1950’s was the weaker of the big three TV networks. They started running Saturday Nights at the Movies. The first one was The Egyptian. I’ve had a fascination of Egyptian history since that day. The second one was How to Marry a Millionaire. I fell hard for Marylin. What a face, what a body and that soft breathy voice. I was eight years old. Little did I know then, that when I was still in diapers, she was the first Playmate for Playboy Magazine. I don’t remember any of the other SNATM from then on.

Audrey Hepburn: Mom would drop my brother and me off at a local theater a few blocks away from my grandparent's business. She would help out from time to time, and it was her way of getting us out from underfoot. One of the ones we watched was Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I remember her sitting in a window with a guitar singing Moon River. I fell in love. I was nine.

Anne Margaret: We moved away from Colorado to New Mexico. Albuquerque had a drive-in with two screens opposite each other. One would show the main feature while the other would show the second feature. If you came in late you would go to the second screen and not miss the main draw. The movie was Bye Bye Birdy. It started with Anne Margaret singing the theme song, dancing and showing off lots of cleavage. Wow. I was eleven and did that ever get my attention. During the credits they ran her dancing and displaying cleavage again. After…

--

--

Patrick Prescott

Patrick Prescott is a retired history/English teacher and author of Human Sacrifices and other novels available on Kindle.