Health Food Deserts — A Myth in My Case

Patti Morrow Wellness
5 min readJul 10, 2017

--

Crazy how life can take a turn…and give you the most amazing surprise. I was visiting family in Graford, TX and made a trip into Mineral Wells (the larger neighboring town of 15,000). The place I was planning to visit was closed…so I drove a little further to try and find something to eat.

I recently finished a 30 day clean eating challenge and have done a pretty good job of keeping up the good habits. I live in Chicago, so finding healthy food is easy. I can grab a crazy healthy (although crazy expensive) smoothie anytime I’m rushed. When I visit small-town Texas, healthy gets more challenging. I love the rush of my old, familiar comfort foods but after a day of cafe food, Bluebell, and bottomless baskets of corn chips (no guilt, all crazy delicious) my body craved some superfoods. Anything healthy.

I’ve driven by Learn’n Tree Healthfood Shoppe for over 30 years. I’ve never stopped in because I live in a big city and they couldn’t possibly have anything I would want. I saw the sign that said “Produce” and I was craving something green. Snob Alert…I was feeling pissy about having to drive 20 minutes to get organic spinach and berries. When I walked in, I was welcomed by a sweet, grey haired lady who let me go about my business. I made a bee-line (must google where that phrase comes from ) to the protein bars so I could eat something before I passed out. I found RX Bars, Primal Bars, and Lara Bars. WHAT??? In Mineral Wells, TX, USA? I started munching on one and walked to the counter. I told the nice owner that I had to eat something fast but had plans to keep shopping. She laughed and told me to eat away. She asked where I was visiting from (guess I’m a little to spastic to be a local) and I told her Chicago. She let me continue to shop. No joke…She had all the good stuff: organic protein powders, collagen, cacoa, maca, supergreen food powers, almond butter, turmeric, and so on and so on…..

I piled my stuff up on the counter and she asked if I minded hearing her Chicago story. This lady was my new best friend and was going to keep me fed for the next week so “No…I don’t mind at all!”

Seems Wynelle wasn’t a fan of big cities, but back in the 80s she went on a Peace March , spent a few nights in Chicago and really loved it. She said “Peace March” like it was no big deal. I’m all in at this point…so I start asking questions. “What kind of Peach March?” “How did you hear about it?” “How long did it take?” Turn out is was THE GREAT PEACE MARCH of 1986!! The group left Los Angeles on March 1 arrived in D.C. on November 15, a journey of about 3,700 miles, nine months, and many campsites. Now remember…I was pissy about having to drive 20 minutes for organic spinach!! I couldn’t stop with the questions and she was happy to answer them all.

So sometime in 1985 or early 1986, Wynelle was sitting in church and the pastor mentioned a march to protest nuclear proliferation. Something about it peaked her interest so she asked for more details after the service. The pastor had no more information. Now remember people…this was pre-internet, Google, mobile phone, etc. I was just in a gym with no wifi and could barely concentrate through my ashtanga practice. (I hope that sounds as ridiculously vapid as I intended.) SO: after a few days, someone called Wynelle and had some details. SOMEONE called her, on the phone, unsolicited, to help her….I know…sounds crazy! In the end, five or so people contacted her with details about the march, so she listened to the Universe and went. Just like that!

Along the way the group stopped at health food stores to get supplies for camping. She enjoyed the camaraderie and, surprise, the health food stores. It’s no surprise that staying near Lake Michigan in the best city in the world was one of the highlights of the trip. Turns out Reagan wouldn’t give audience to the group, but the next year the INF Treaty was signed…so I’d like to think that Reagan took a little push from Wynelle and her group.

When Wynelle returned to Mineral Wells, TX, she remembered the health food stores along the march and was led into the health food store in her hometown. Turns out the owner was selling the shop. Again, the Universe pushed Wynelle and she listened. She purchased the store, along with the four items left on the shelves. Instead of buying loads of products to fill the shelves (totally what I would have done so everyone would be uber impressed with my new health food store) she waited until customers came in, asked them what they wanted to order..and ordered two extra of each items to put on the shelves. One the years Wynelle and her daughter have filled this most amazing health food store with requests from her customers. She joked that everything was “locally sourced” because it all came from local suggestions. OK Mineral Wells, TX…you have some great tastes in superfoods!!

So no more bitching about not being able to find healthy foods!! Wynelle marched 3,700 miles for PEACE. I can drive 20 minutes for organic bananas (which I am now able to use in my amazing smoothies thanks to Learn’n Tree and Wynelle!) Consider this my Waggle Dance People!!!

Fair Warning: Was so excited about this whole encounter that I probably flubbed several details. Go see Wynelle and get the straight story!!

Origin of BEELINE: The phrase derives from the behavior of bees. When a forager bee finds a source of nectar it returns to the hive and communicates its location to the other bees, using a display called the Waggle Dance. The other bees are then able to fly directly to the source of the nectar, that is, ‘make a beeline’ for it. This dance is a surprisingly sophisticated means of communication for a creature with such a small brain.

--

--