Aconcagua; Climb of my life!

“If your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough.”

Patty Alcivar
20 min readJan 13, 2018

On my Birthday, December 12, 2016 after reaching Veintimilla (20,100 ft) on Chimborazo Mountain in Ecuador during a snowstorm , I decided to take my love of the mountains to the next level- Climb the “ 7 Summits” of the World which only about 300 people worldwide have accomplished and no Female, Queens, New Yorker & Boxer has ever attempted until now…

“ There is magic in Misery.”

The most important lessons in my life have come through constant struggle and effort. I believe its one of the reasons I survived leaving an abusive home and living on my own in NYC since I was 15 years old as well as excelling as a Boxer, athlete and now Alpinist.

I have always loved nature, hiking and the outdoors, but to me, if it doesn’t challenge me, then there is no growth. High Altitude Alpine climbing continues to teach me patience and about never giving up despite extremely difficult, uncomfortable and sometimes painful circumstances.

The 7 Summits are the highest & deadliest mountains in each Continent: Africa: Kilimanjaro,(19,341ft), South America: Aconcagua (22,841ft), Europe: Elbrus (18,510ft), Antarctica: Vinson Massif (16,050ft), Asia: Everest (29,029ft), Indonesia: Cartensz (16,024ft) & Alaska: Denali (20,310ft).

Right after my Birthday, I started planning on my new Goal. Each time I thought about it, my heart beated extra fast and I envisioned myself on top of my next mountain which would be Kilimanjaro, 19,481ft!

On February 26, 2017, I reached the Summit of Kilimanjaro in 2.5 days! My Guide, Emanuelle would later tell me he had never met anyone that smiled so much on the toughest part of the climbs that his former clients have cried on.

Climbing Kilimanjaro was not a piece of cake for me, but I’ve always thought complaining was so unproductive and instead “ Embraced the Suck.” One foot in front of the other and “Don’t you dare slow down or stop no matter what,” was my thought.

Right after Kilimanjaro I scheduled my next major mountain of the 7 Summits with RMI Expeditions for December 14- January 5, 2017 and that would be Aconcagua, 22,841ft- the highest Mountain in South America and in the Southern & Western Hemisphere located in Argentina.

For the next 9 months (March-November 2017) everything I did was with Aconcagua in mind. 22,841ft would be my highest altitude yet and I had never been on a mountain for that long. I wanted to be in the best possible physical condition, but I also dedicated time every day to my faith, prayers, meditation and visualization.

Part of my training included running 5 times a week, strength training, Plyometrics, Swimming and hiking on the weekends in the Catskills.

Another significant element to developing my mountaineering/high altitude climbing skills was traveling to Ecuador every 8–10 weeks where my friend and mentor pushed me to new extremes in the Mountains of Ecuador such as reaching the ultimate highest peak on Chimborazo, Whymper, 20,702ft in August, 2017 & Cotopaxi, 19,347ft in November, 2017. Furthermore, he introduced me to a Sports Doctor in Ecuador, Dr. Mario Ochoa Larrea who diagnosed me with a severe iron deficiency and a hormonal illness in July, 2017.

Dr. Mario was shocked at how I was competing and functioning at such high level with my condition, but I quickly got the appropriate treatment and started improving almost immediately.

After reaching the Summit of Cotopaxi, 19,347ft in November,,2017 with somewhat of an ease even though it was incredibly cold and relentlessly steep, I could feel my body had adapted well in the high altitudes and I knew I was ready for the climb of my Life in just a few short weeks.

A week before my flight to Argentina, I found out that the Permit Cost for the National Parks ( which is not included in the RMI guided trip) was $950 plus the sherpa/porter fees which was $185 from Base Camp to Camp 1, $285 for Camp 1 to Camp 2, $385 for Camp2 to High Camp and $385 for Camp2 back to Base Camp so potentially about $1400 in porter fees.

I had worked 4 different jobs through out the year (Translator/Interpreter, XC Coach, EMT & Assistant) and was not prepared for the additional costs but as my Boxing Coach always taught me to be overprepared, I knew I was physically prepared and ready to carry ALL my gear and group gear myself to all the required camps to avoid the additional costs.

December 12, 2017,-My Birthday and 2 days before traveling to Mendoza, Argentina, I passed by Trinity Boxing where I remembered my goals/dreams, my promises to myself and everything I have gone through that has made me “fighter” inside and outside the ring. I also passed by church and spent some quality time with my rescue Dog, Jack whom I’ve had for now 8 years. I am ready…

I arrived in Mendoza, Argentina on December 15th in the afternoon and was picked up in the airport and transferred to a nearby hotel by Fernando Grajales Expedition, a local Argentinean company which worked with RMI.

I took a nap and before I knew it, it was time for a group meeting in the Lobby. I met the Team of 8 climbers and 3 RMI Guides briefly before mandatory Gear Check.

I pretty much had all my required gear with the exception of a Heavy Expedition Parka. “You will need to put on every single layer and jacket on because you have not experienced that type of cold and wind up there,” said Avery, one of the RMI Guides. I did have my heavy North Face Puffy down Jacket and JM Gorum, Lead Guide said I would have to put at least 6 heavy layers underneath. I was nervous, but confident I could make all the layers work.

Day 1, Sat, Dec 16: Team Breakfast, filling and printing out required permit documents to enter Aconcagua National Provincial Park and packing all luggage in van for departure to Penintentes Hotel.

Each climber submitted their permits and $950 each and We obtained all our permits before leaving Mendoza on a 3-hr drive to Penintentes which we would spend the night and where the Start of the 26-mile “Vacas trail” begun which would take us to Base Camp in Plaza Argentina.

Once we arrived in Penitentes, we had to sort all our gear once again separating what we absolutely do not need (and will not take), a day pack for the 3- day, 42Kilometer Trek to Basecamp, a separate duffle bag with our sleeping bags, hygiene bag/clothes that would go on a mule and finally a duffle bag with all the heavy gear that would go straight to Base Camp for the significant climbs/summit. I was overwhelmed!

When I was finally done with the sorting, I went up to my room and looked at the amazing view. I remembered why I was here. The view was surreal. I also realized that tonight would be the last night sleeping in a real bed and took my final hot bath for the next 16 days.

Day 2: Sun, Dec 17

My usual wake up time in NYC is 4:30 am, so my eyes automatically opened at that time. I layed awake and prayed and saw myself standing on top of Aconcagua and suddenly was overwhelmed with tears. “ I can do this and will give it 100% effort starting from today’s trek.”

The Team met for breakfast and as someone who suffers from Celiac’s disease and has milk and shellfish allergies, food on expeditions is always challenging, but Alas! They had eggs and coffee and I made sure I had a few rounds. Our bags for Base Camp and for the next 3 days were loaded on to the mules and we got to the start of the Vacas trail!

I had my usual girlish grin because I was so excited and the first thing I did was run up front and center behind the Lead Guide. The sun was out and it was very warm. I was wearing a NYC sleeveless t-shirt and shorts while everyone else had hiking pants, long sleeve and a buff.

I would later learn the hard way that covering up even in the heat protected your skin from the dust and sunburn.

I absolutely enjoyed the 4+hour trek that took us through some mild rolling but very rocky trails. It felt wonderful to be disconnected from the everyday technology and in tune with Nature and myself. We made It to “Pampas de Leñas,” at 9,000ft.

We arrived early and I walked over to the nearby river to wash all the dust from my body and wash my clothes. Something I had never done. We were treated to an awesome and typical Argentinean “Asado” which is a Barbecue. I ate until I couldn’t anymore.

Tonight, we would sleep “under the stars,” which would freak me out. Another first for me. No tents, just our sleeping bags. Although the stars and silence was incredibly beautiful, I did not sleep a wink!

Day 3: Mon, Dec 18th

7am: “Hot water will be ready in 30 minutes, bring your mugs and bowl for breakfast,” said JM our Lead Guide. That would become a very familiar phrase and wake up call every morning as they started the stoves. It was a clear 20-min warning to pack up and get ready.

Although I had not slept at all, I felt full with excitement and felt great. I was ready for Day 2 of this trek that would take us to “Casa de Piedras,” 10,550ft.

It was another warm day as we hiked through the Vacas Valley and the Mountains around us grew taller. We also caught the first glimpse of Aconcagua’s Eastern Face. “Patty, you are always front and center,” said Avery, one of the Assistant Guides. “Haha! YES! I want to feel and show I belong here and want to give every part of this expedition 100%!”

This was definitely a longer trek and we would take a short break every hour or so to hydrate and refuel. We would replenish our water with river water and treat the water with tablets or laser. Another first for me..

After about 5 hours or so, we reached “Casa de Piedras” and today we would set up tents as the wind and cold here at night would require us to have shelter. Everyone started grabbing a tent while I was somewhat hesitant. “Umm, can you help me with the tent set-up?” I asked JM. “What? Listen up everyone, we are going to do a group demo of setting up a tent. Pay attention because we will show you this time and then you need to do it on your own for the next 2 weeks.”

I was laser focused and felt confident I could do set up my tent next time. I did not like the helpless feeling one bit. Another first for me..

The sunset in Argentina since it is the Summer season for them is usually around 9–9:30pm and dinner of “Asado” chicken was going to be around 7:30 pm, so after my tent was set up around 5pm, I went to the nearby river to soak my feet, wash the dust off and wash my clothes again. I really loved this!

We had dinner and were briefed on what would happen the next day. “ Tomorrow, will be a tough day as we will gain over 3,000ft in elevation and will be the longest mileage of this 3-day trek..and Patty don’t wear shorts. It will be colder tomorrow as we head to Base Camp,” said JM.

Day 4: Tues, Dec 19th

I was so glad to be inside a tent the night before as the winds definitely picked up, but another night where I just could not sleep. How long can my excitement carry me? I still felt great and filled with good energy as today we go to Base Camp! That’s right..I was front & center wearing the requested long pants!

This portion of the trek was the longest and most challenging, with many more steeper sections amd elevation gain, but it also was the most beautiful as it took us through the Relinchos Valley. I felt as I was in a movie at times. The beauty, sight and scent of the canyons, valleys and mountains are something I will never forget.

After about 6 hours, we finally made it to Base Camp, 13,800ft in Plaza Argentina! We got there in the early afternoon in great time to be greeted by Fernando Grajales Expeditions with soft drinks and snacks inside a big tent. What a treat!

This would be our home for the next 3 nights and I was strangely excited to actually stay put in one place and was eager to try and set up my tent on my own, unpack and spend my first night at a real Base Camp!

We were treated to a wonderful 3-course dinner of soup, pasta and dessert that night. Of course, my entree was gluten free pasta made out of rice and my dessert was a canned fruit cocktail, but a treat nonetheless! We were warned that because of the altitude (13,800ft), we might have headaches and trouble sleeping.

Before I went inside my tent, I watched the sun set that night and cried..

Day 5: Wed, Dec 20th

Another Sleepless night! The insanely loud snoring in the nearby tents totally kept me up, but for some reason, I still felt great.

Today, we would take a small acclimating hike, sort through our gear for our first carry-up/stash away to Camp 1 tomorrow and see the Doctor for a mandatory check up this afternoon.

The small acclimating hike was exactly what I needed! I was having some anxiety from not having enough sleep, from experiencing a latrine for the first time last night which is basically a hole in the ground and people usually don’t aim properly in the night or when they have common stomach issues from the altitude, from seeing the doctor soon and lastly, realizing that I was the ONLY one from our team of 9 climbers that would NOT use a porter tomorrow for our first group carry-up/caching supplies to Camp 1. I would be carrying close to 70lbs on my back.

“Buenas Tardes Doctor, Como esta?” I said with my usual smile. “ Muy bien Pato, you speak Spanish,” said the doctor with a refreshing smile. We call all the Patty’s “ Pato” here in Argentina. JM heard that and started calling me that too. The Doctor’s reaction was common to everyone I encountered in Argentina. I was also the only person on the Team who spoke Spanish and often served as an Interpreter. I have always been proud of my Colombian roots and was so happy to be among the Hispanic Community.

He took my blood pressure, Heart rate, Oxygen saturation in my blood and asked me if I have been experiencing any headaches, nausea, stomach discomfort or any other high altitude symptoms. My results were : B/P: 110/60, HR 66, Oxygen 88..”Perfecto y Buena Suerte..you are good to go,” said the Doctor.

I had a Koolaid smile that only lasted momentarily. Many of my teammates had either a high blood pressure or high Heart Rate which is normal when you get to a high altitude Base Camp, but one of the team member’s blood pressure was too high and would not normalize even after the doctors gave him medication. He was evacuated the next day.

Needless to say, this was another sleepless night.

Day 6: Thurs, Dec 21st

We had our usual breakfast of hot oatmeal and a hot beverage around 7:30 am and then got ready to start carrying the group and personal gear we would stash away in Camp 1 which was at 16,200ft. Everyone else gave their heavy items to the porters and just loaded up their backpacks with water, food and extra warm clothes.

I was prepared, nothing ever comes easy for me and had a big smile on my face and went front and center to start our first significant climb. It was a big reality check! It was the first time I saw and climbed through “ Penitentes,” which are are snow formations found at high altitudes. They take the form of elongated, thin blades of hardened snow or ice, closely spaced and pointing towards the general direction of the sun. With nearly 70lbs on my back, it was a very challenging day, but I did it!

Day 7: Fri, Dec 22nd

We had a “rest day” on Friday, which was used to continue to acclimate, rest, eat, organize and get your head straight for what was to come.

Day 8: Sat, Dec 23rd

7:30 am: “knock knock, hot water in 30 minutes.” With a weird lump in my throat, I quickly packed up my sleeping bag, packed all my belongings from the tent and then broke down the tent. This would be the last time we would have breakfast in a sheltered area, have a real prepared dinner and go to an enclosed latrine. Today, we moved to Camp 1.

Another climb up with so much weight on my back with little sleep was taking a toll on my body. We made it to Camp 1 at 16,200 ft and quickly set up tents as the cold and wind up here is completely different than Base Camp. I was tired and as soon as my tent was set up, I went inside and closed my eyes and drifted off.

6pm: “knock, knock..hot water for dinner and hot beverage ready in 30 min.” The wind was significantly cold and I saw the rest of the team coming out with their puffy pants and big puffy parkas. I just layered up with 2 leggings underneath a pair of climbing pants and we all huddled behind a big boulder to have “ Tasty Bites” middle eastern packaged dinners with rice and our hot beverages.

As we ate our dinners, we were briefed on our day tomorrow. We would make our 2nd Carry up/Gear Stash to Camp 2, Guanacos Camp at 18,000ft. Oy vei! The Team quickly arranged to have the porters come tomorrow to carry their stuff, while I nervously passed and got mentally ready for another heavy carry.

The wind was furious tonight and before sunset, I was already inside my tent. I laid down and tears streamed down the sides of my face, “please give me strength to keep making these climbs with all this weight, please help me sleep and stay healthy, strong, safe and smiling..amen.” I magically fell into a deep sleep this night.

Day 9: Sun, Dec 24th

The porters showed up amd took the pre arranged gear from the rest of the Team Members. I was so thankful to have gotten the much needed rest. I felt good but had a weird pain developing in the center of my stomach.

Guanacos Camp 2 was at 18,000ft and we all felt the difference in altitude, air, wind, but the scenery was just special. We spent over an hour taking it all in before descending back to Camp 1 to end with a “ tasty bites & rice” dinner and bed.

Day 10: Mon, Dec 25th, Christmas

8am: “knock knock, Hot water in 30 minutes.” I quickly cleaned myself up with baby wipes, brushed my teeth and put on my special knit hat. “ Feliz Navidad everyone,” I said with a big smile. “Wait, is that another hat? How many hats did you bring?” said Avery. “I think I brought about 7–8 hats since I can’t really change my clothes everyday.” The look on everyone’s face especially the guides was priceless. “You don’t need that many hats, perhaps you can leave a few of those hats here and save yourself the extra weight to Camp 2,” JM said laughing but seriously.

We were treated to Corn Quesadillas for Christmas! I never thought I would enjoy this holiday sheltered behind a boulder on a mountain at 16,200ft. During this time, JM had a very important announcement. They had been monitoring the weather very carefully and according to the reports, we would need to make our summit attempt on Friday, December 29th instead of Saturday. We would have to eliminate an “ acclimating/ rest day” on Camp 2 which JM was confident we would tolerate well.

Tomorrow, we would fully move to Guanacos Camp 2.

Day 11: Tues, Dec 26th

Another heavy carry up to Guanacos Camp 2 and I felt every single pound on my back. I was not quite sure what was happening, but my stomach felt worse. Perhaps its the altitude and all the crazy weight I was carrying, I thought to myself. Just need to stay strong and not complain.

We moved to Camp 2 at 18,000 ft and it was snowing and brutally cold and windy. I stood on top of a rock in the middle of camp..” This is exactly where I was meant to be.”

Day 12: Wed, Dec 27th:

I took most of this day to reflect on every day leading to the big day. I laid in my tent and was once again overwhelmed with so much emotion. “ God, I have worked and sacrificed so much. If it is my destiny to reach the summit, I leave it in your hands. I ask that you keep me and my team safe and strong. Amen.”

We met for an early dinner and I barely ate my dehydrated “Alpine Start” rice and chicken dinner. I was having stomach cramps while we were getting briefed on what was the plan for tomorrow. “Tomorrow, we will have our hot beverages, breakdown our tents and move to high camp for our summit bid tomorrow evening/Friday morning. Pack your summit warm gear, crampons, ice axe and food tonight,” JM said firmly.

Day 13: Thurs, Dec 28th

Oh Gosh! Its my Red Best Friend! Really? That is why I was getting that pain in my stomach. “Okay, be calm and stay strong. It will be aight,” I tried to say jokingly to myself. I packed my sleeping bag and all my gear and voluntarily offered one of my teammates to carry their portion of the tent and -40 degree bag which was an extra 12lbs. She opted out of a porter service on this leg and then regretted the decision after she felt the weight of her pack.

I severely struggled with the extra weight especially at this higher altitude. “ Patty, you look like a Christmas Tree! Why is your backpack so much heavier & bigger?” said one of the Guides. “She is carrying my stuff that’s why,” said my team/tent mate.

Right after the first long hour climb, JM asked me to take everything that was not mine out of my backpack. He divided it among the other 2 guides. My legs and back were extremely thankful but felt very weak. I still somehow managed to be front and center with a big Smile! We made it to Piedras Blancas High Camp at 19,600ft!

Day 14: Fri, Dec 29th

3:30 am: “Knock, Knock..hot water ready for breakfast/hot beverages in 30 min.” I opened my eyes, but I had barely slept. My stomach was a mess, but I was ready. For 3 seconds, I remembered my vision of being on top of Aconcagua and felt the incredible emotions in my chest. I said my final prayer and got myself ready.

It was COLD! I put 3 layers on the bottom and 8 layers under my down jacket, 2 hats and 2 fleece balaclavas. We were all ready to go by 4:30 am and were one of the first teams on the mountain and immediately started with a vicious incline. It Really could be overwhelming to feel the thickness in the air at 19,600 ft.

“Pressure Breath Patty..Take your time ..Don’t Panic.. One foot in Front of the Other,” I kept saying to myself. After the first big climbing section, it was daylight but it was really upsetting to discover that we lost a team member. They were not able to tolerate the altitude and had to turn back.

I had honestly never felt cold like that before even with all the layers I had on. “How are you feeling Patty,” asked JM. “I feel good with the exception of my hands..they are almost numb.” He quickly took out an extra pair of heavy leather expedition mittens and gave them to me. That made a huge difference and we kept climbing what seemed like the most punishing inclines I had ever felt in my life.

“ This discomfort will not last forever..Take it and stay strong no matter what!” I felt the winds pelt my face and a stabbing pain in my stomach, but I also knew we were getting closer. I was looking down and after 7 hours, JM turned around and smiled, “ Congratulations Pato!”

With tears uncontrollably running down my face and smiling at the same time, I took the American Flag out and asked JM to take the Summit Picture I had dreamed and envisioned. “ I did it!” I looked up & said “ Thank you!” On Friday, December 29, 2017 at 12:30pm, I became the first Female Queens, New Yorker & Boxer to Summit Aconcagua, 22,841ft, the highest Mountain in South America and Southern & Western Hemisphere!

After the incredible summit, we had to descend back to high camp. My legs felt weak. I had given everything to make that summit. As soon as we got to high camp, I got in my tent and cried and slept to the next day.

Day 15–18:

We trekked back to Base camp and then back to where we first started, 42 kilometers back to the start of the Vacas Trail.

Taking my first shower and sleeping in a bed after almost 18 days was an overwhelming feeling. Being in the mountains for that length of time taught me how to appreciate so many things we take for granted. I strangely wanted to go back in that cold tent. I oddly felt safe in those mountains.

This was indeed the climb of my Life. I learned to push and keep going even when I thought I had nothing left. I look forward to the next mountains that await including Everest 2020!

Special and heartfelt thanks for ALL the prayers, best wishes, support, guidance and most importantly God. I would be no where without my Faith.

To support My Dream, please donate or share:

https://www.gofundme.com/51h37m8

--

--

Patty Alcivar

On my own at 15. Mountaineer,ProBoxer,Runner, Writer,Dog Lover & New Yorker on a mission to Climb 7 World Summits. Follow Incredible journey @climbingforadream