Patty Alcivar
13 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

Nevado del Tolima,(5200m, 17,150ft)-Not Just Another Summit

“ Sometimes you must hurt in order to know, Fall in order to Grow, Lose in order to Gain, Because most of life’s greatest lessons are learned through pain.”

In early November of last year, 2019, I went through one the hardest heartbreaks and losses of my life.

I thought that surviving an abusive home, living on my own in NYC at the age of 15, running my 1st Marathon at the age of 16, being a Champion Amateur boxer for 6 years & NYS Champion Professional Boxer for 7 years had prepared me for just about anything.

I don’t think anything in life prepares you enough for betrayal, hurt and loss.

However, throughout my life, my spirituality and faith have taught me to embrace the things I can’t change, and turn them into opportunities. Prayer, Counseling, Exercise & my Dreams have always given me the wisdom and awareness I needed.

I struggled for months, but I just never gave up and through the tears and pain, I found comfort in remembering all the obstacles I have overcome thus far, my “why” and my goals in life.

Earlier this year in mid January, I ran a Half Marathon with my sister, went to church and made a promise to myself to keep moving forward no matter what.

--

--

Patty Alcivar

On my own at 15. Mountaineer,ProBoxer,Runner, Writer,Dog Lover & New Yorker on a mission to Climb 7 World Summits. Follow Incredible journey @climbingforadream