“My way” — a poem of life

Albu Paul
3 min readFeb 1, 2018

--

It is said that when we are in high spirits we enjoy the music, but when we are down we listen to the lyrics. Today, as Frank Sinatra’s song is playing in the background:

“For what is a man, what has he got

If not himself, than he has naught

To say the things he truly feels

And not the words of one who kneels”

I can only listen to the song and be captivated by the story behind these words.

Understand: What is man, what has he got?

I sit here in an empty room writing, questioning my own reality. How strong are the relationships I’ve built, the path I choose towards my profession and towards my personal goals; and it’s amazing how the brain works, it’s defense mechanisms it developed along the years, like shifting my focus whenever I’m trying to concern myself with these thoughts.

Therefore the question remains, what have I got?

Accept: If not himself, then he has naught

In this search for purpose and meaning sometimes I tend to be anxious or nervous and forget that other peoples’ opinion have an impact on myself only on the short run and I am still the same person whom I was one or two months ago. This are passing events. Through highs and lows, I am the same person. I shall not be defined by someone else’s opinions. I am who I am, a flawed individual that strives to make the best out of this life.

I am not referring to disregard every opinion, but let’s say that only few people matter, therefore choose wisely.

Be honest: To say the things he truly feel

Being true to myself and in return sincerely to others is the greatest thing that I can do. Sometimes it may be hard to recognize and accept the true nature of the person standing in the mirror, but pressing pause on life can often bring out meanining. I learned to trust my instincts a bit more, stopped overanalyzing everything, pushed myself to make a *leap of faith* from times to times. Of course it may go sideways, but that’s life.

Being conscious of own feelings and expressing them freely is the most rewarding part in life. Maybe, that’s why I’ve enjoyed reading The subtle art of not giving a f*ck so much.

Strive: And not the words of one who kneels

In my early 20s I volunteered for 3 years. I absolutely loved it. Sometimes I wish I could hit repeat on those years, just to relive those experiences. We were young, naive, we didn’t know that something can’t be done. We weren’t afraid of being judged and we didn’t care if our opinions were stupid or wrong. Our only drive was “doing”. We fought and yelled at each other but we were not affected by the Ego Mentality in which we had to preserve our status quo or our self-esteem. By challenging each other time and time again, we understood that at the end of the day this is how we all grew. I’ve learnt a valuable lesson: There is no learning in the comfort zone, only mediocrity! Pushing myself to do more, challenging my own and others’ perspectives broaden my views regarding life’s voyage and offered the possibility to appreciate that I am the sole responsible of my place in the world.

Until I’ll “face the final curtain”, I’ll strive to be a better individual, to face my fears, express myself and be understanding and honest with myself and others.

Image credit: BestPhotoSite

--

--

Albu Paul

In a world with more and more self-centered individuals, the only way to stay sane is through self-reflection and expression of one’s feelings.