What’s with all these tech naysayers?

Paul Pallaghy, PhD
6 min readFeb 7, 2023
Tesla bears are kind of bizarre IMO. They follow stocks but not the *true* tech fundamentals. Why? It’s hard to fathom but I list around 8 reasons below. IMAGE CREDIT | CNBC

I spend more time than I’d like to admit in discussions with tech ‘naysayers’ who appear to rejoice in dismissing actual – or upcoming – grand challenge achievements and progress in AI, sustainability, biotech, EVs, robotics, aerospace & futurism.

I do this for good reason: it sounds harsh, but I’m trying to correct their mindset which is often:

  • terrible at first principles thinking
  • focused on unimportant / minor details
  • strangely obsessed with short-term despite the breakthrough nature of the technologies we’re talking about
  • ideologically biased
  • historically 99% wrong (I’m not kidding!)
EVs are just so much better in every way. Naysayers are still trying to deny it. IMAGE CREDIT | Property Guru

In evidence of the opposite: my personal past and present tech predictions are actually on my LinkedIn ‘About’ page and some were made decades ahead and most past predictions are verifiable via Twitter, blog or sometimes, my colleagues.

For example, I followed Elon Musk since 2004 because I knew he was right on both SpaceX and Tesla. I predicted the Human Genome Project would complete a decade early, that the Higgs Boson would be found, that protein…

--

--

Paul Pallaghy, PhD

PhD Physicist / AI engineer / Biophysicist / Futurist into global good, AI, startups, EVs, green tech, space, biomed | Founder Pretzel Technologies Melbourne AU