Out of Ideas, Out of Time: Chapter 4

A Collaborative Story

P.G. Barnett
Out of Ideas, Out of Time

--

Read Part One Here

Read Part Two Here

Read Part Three Here

“Yeah, I know her,” Carl replied.

Something else troubled me aside from this bombshell Carl just laid on me. I knew I shouldn’t have eaten that second coney.

The rumblings in my stomach caused by all that chili, and those onions meant I was only seconds away from passing gas. Somehow I didn’t think Carl would appreciate my flatulence.

I tightened my butt cheeks and stared across the counter at him.

“How so?”

“She’s my fourth cousin’s, brother’s, sister’s, mother’s, aunt’s, daughter. She comes in here all the time.”

I was stunned. All I had at this point to go on was a picture and a one-page rambling script of well-written desperation. This information was bigger than a Huey Lewis and the News song.

“Can you tell me where I can find her?”

“Why you want to know, mister? She’s in trouble with the law?”

“Do I look like a policeman Carl?”

“Not really.”

I told Carl about the note that had been slid into my office beneath my door.

--

--

P.G. Barnett
Out of Ideas, Out of Time

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.