Ali Abdaal Made Me Do It!

My 30-Day Writing Challenge Begins Now

Paul Ajao
2 min readSep 18, 2023

Although I’ve been working full-time in digital marketing since 2008, I’m always looking to improve my abilities.

One fundamental skill that I’m seeking to enhance is writing, covering both content writing and copywriting.

With that in mind, I’ve set myself a challenge of writing and publishing 30 micro articles in 30 days.

Why a Writing Challenge?

I’ve heard numerous people talk about the benefits of establishing a daily writing habit. These include David Perell (Write of Passage) and Nicholas Cole (Ship 30 for 30).

But the tipping point for me came last week when I received an email from Ali Abdaal. Yes, you guessed it, he said that he was starting a daily writing practice. If you’ve not heard of Ali, he’s become something of a productivity and education expert on YouTube and I love listening to his stuff.

As I’m also part way through reading Atomic Habits by James Clear, I thought now is the perfect time to put into practice what I’m learning.

Benefits of Regular Writing

Here are some of the reasons I want to start a daily writing habit:

· Getting your ideas down on paper helps to clarify your thoughts.

· By publishing a variety of different article topics, you can see what resonates with your audience.

· Writing is the backbone of many other marketing skills including producing website content, creating compelling emails, and writing persuasive ads.

· Regular writing helps you overcome common struggles such as ‘blank page syndrome’.

· Publishing what you’ve written every day is a way of dealing with perfectionism.

What I Hope to Achieve in 30 Days

By the end of 30 days I hope to have some feedback on my output. This should help provide a clearer idea of the professional direction I should pursue in the next few years.

At the very least, I should have the foundation for a series of blog posts that I’ll be able to publish online.

Looking forward to the journey.

Follow along to see if I make it to 30 days, or if it becomes a glorious train wreck!

--

--