I’m Not Saying You Should Get A Dog, But…

Three things I learned from reading “Marley & Me” and from being a dog owner.

Paula Martins
3 min readApr 6, 2024
Photo by fatty corgi on Unsplash

Welcome to Day #15 of my 30-day writing challenge. Catch up on my journey here.

Years ago, my dad lent me his copy of “Marley & Me” and highly recommended I read it.

At first, I felt skeptical. But I was 16 and on summer vacation, so I took a shot.

Of course, by the end of the book, I was crying my eyes out and hugging our shih tzu Alfie, who was only about one year old at the time (and still lives to this day, now nearing 17 years of age).

Today, I come here to share three things I learned from reading “Marley & Me” and from being a dog owner:

#1 You Don’t Have To Go To The Himalayas To Find Inspiration

Some people often think they have to go to the other side of the world to find themselves and find inspiration.

But inspiration doesn’t have to come from amazing adventures, profound human connections, or devastating events.

It can come from simple yet unique day-to-day experiences.

If you think about it, “Marley & Me” isn’t just about Marley and his owner.

It’s about a couple starting their family and everything that comes with it: challenges, laughter, tears, bliss…

It’s also about life’s cycles and how beautiful they can be when you care for and nurture those around you.

#2 Dogs Aren’t Babys, But…

They are family, too. They fill the house with joy with their wondering energy, discovering new things every day.

My husband and I recently adopted Panda, a two-year-old shih tzu (who looks exactly like Alfie, by the way).

Even though we both had dogs growing up, we still find ourselves amused by Panda’s discoveries — which are, in some way, new to us, too.

I’m not at all suggesting having a dog replaces having a child (and you’ll soon understand how much I mean this in the next section).

But having a dog teaches you about friendship, patience, love, and care.

And these are lessons I’ll happily embrace every time.

#3 They Show Us A Prelude Of Our Life In Their Short Years

My parents got Alfie when I was 15. When I left home to move in with my husband, I thought about bringing him with me. My mom is too attached, though (and so is he to her), so we decided it would be best he stayed with her and my dad.

My husband and I thought a thousand times about getting a new puppy, and I always flinched. The main reason? I didn’t want to feel like I was replacing Alfie.

Time passed, and Alfie grew older. He can barely walk now. But every time we go to my parents, we give him love and attention while Panda sits close by. Because they look so incredibly the same, being the same breed and having the same fur pattern, we keep comparing the similarities between Panda and Alfie’s puppy days.

Panda didn’t replace Alfie. Instead, he reminds us of Alfie’s good old days.

Like Alfie, we will all hopefully grow old. If we’re lucky, we’ll have someone by our side caring for us and reminding us of the good old days, too.

I’m not saying you should get a dog.

But, honestly?

Get a dog.

--

--

Paula Martins

I'm a content marketer from 9-5 and a creative writer from 5-9.