IT Workers Don’t Need College

Paul M
9 min readJan 4, 2019

Jump Start Your Own Apprenticeship

Photo by Paul Esch-Laurent on Unsplash

I was annoyed at myself for coming to the conclusion that the standard college path is pointless for those entering the Information Technology career field. I was taught my whole life that college was important, still is for some paths, but IT is dubious.

I was finishing up my bachelor’s degree online via Western Governors University when I came to a realization. WGU was keeping curriculum up to date by augmenting it with online resources. I was directed to augment my learning with a Youtube series for one of my courses.

Its a smart move on WGU’s part to enrich courses in order keep up with the rapid pace of technology. In this day and age where Javascript frameworks are updated monthly if not weekly, how can one expect the college curriculum pipeline to keep up? I couldn’t help thinking that, if I hadn’t been attending college on the GI bill, I would have felt a little ripped off. I can find online material on my own. Is it really worth my time to get this piece of paper?

I was recently searching for something to augment the self directed learning I’ve done in programming. Focusing on learning Python has been difficult and richly rewarding. It has opened up a lot of opportunity. It gave me a deeper understanding of the hardware and software with which I interact on a daily basis.

--

--

Paul M

I love to tackle difficult projects. I believe that every person has a great idea or quest they must follow.