Product Designer: Explained

A data-driven approach to understand the Product Design career.

Paulo Dziobczenski
Bootcamp

--

In this article, I present a data-driven analysis of what it means to be a Product Designer. The analysis is based on job ads from companies such as Apple, Facebook, Ford, Netflix and Paypal.

When a company is hiring a designer, what do they look for? What do they expect a designer will do? What skills a designer should have?

Those are exactly the questions I will answer now, based on a data-driven analysis of job advertisements. If you want to know more about the method and what I mean by data-driven analysis, I wrote a separate article explaining it.

In short: Much has been said about what it means to be a Product/UX/UI/Visual Designer. Many designers have written very wonderful before. I am taking a different approach: I look at what companies say in their job advertisements.

Now, back to Product design.

What Product Designers do?

--

--

Paulo Dziobczenski
Bootcamp

Design Researcher. Visual Designer. Designer in Residence at Aalto University 🇫🇮 Founder of designcareer.co