Paulo Marini - 3D Technical Atist
2 min readJun 28, 2024

Project 002 The Crash | ep. 002

It’s been a while since my last update. Life’s been hectic, but work on The Crash hasn’t stopped. In this episode, I’ll showcase some of the non-procedural and semi-procedural elements I’ve created recently.

The Gas Station

The first asset I modeled was a complete gas station, which will play a crucial role in the scene as a primary light source. I opted for Rhinoceros for its mathematical precision, aiming to create a well-proportioned model.

The Car

A flaming car will be the centerpiece of my scene. This model serves as the foundation for the fire simulation I’ll be working on later. I started with a downloaded VW-MK3 model and used vellum simulations and SOP fracture nodes in Houdini to generate the destruction.

Clouds

Utilizing Houdini’s VDB system, I crafted a set of clouds that will be placed in the far distance to create a foggy atmosphere. I used the cloud shape SOP node to define the overall look and sculpted the rest using noise and smooth nodes.

In the next episode, I’ll share the Megascans model packs I’ve chosen to scatter throughout the scene. Additionally, I’ll be modeling some extra objects to add even more detail to the environment. Stay tuned for further progress on The Crash!

Paulo Marini - 3D Technical Atist
0 Followers

3D Technical Artist Artist based in brazil. Created this space to share my day-by-day experiences in 3D Art.